Shimmering Orchid

I’m really getting into purples lately. I like cooler blue-toned purples, but sometimes they look bad with my pale skin. But too-warm purples start overlapping in the burgundy/red area and can be sort of scary old ladyish. No that there’s anything wrong with being a scary old lady.

But I wanted a fresh purple….with micro glitter! I was thinking of holiday parties and doing something a little bit more original than red, while still being seasonal and festive.  This purple is a little warm (made with more red than blue) and I added a blue microglitter to keep things interesting.

img_0738

img_0739

img_0737

This was made with 2/3 Essie Jelly Apple, a medium red creme, and 1/3 OPI Dating A Royal, a lightish medium blue. Or at least it seems to be for me- it’s sort of like the same blue color as the signs at Exxon Mobil stations. I then added a few drops of white to make it a little lighter.

And then, of course, the glitter. I added in about 10 drops of OPI DS Royal, which is a purplish jelly with blue holographic microglitter. It’s slightly sheerer than the other Designer Series I’ve seen. A nice color all by itself, but I just wanted a hint of blue glitter for this one.

I’ll be doing some Christmas nail art soon- my polishes will be the last thing I pack for my upcoming move. Next up: candy stripes, like my Autumnal Stripes, but for Christmas.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Brights, Nail polish, Purples and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shimmering Orchid

  1. XxSparklesxX says:

    That is Such a pretty color, I should paint my walls that color Xp

Leave a Reply

