Holiday Garnet

I’m crazy about duochromes- those colors that change according to how the light hits them. There is no good way to franken them- I’ve tried pigments, paint and polish together but haven’t found a way to make a really good duochrome from scratch. So I had to add a bit of duochrome to this franken.

I wanted to make polish that was both red and green at the same time for Christmas. I mixed half Essie Jelly Apple, a medium red creme, and the half of the sadly discontinued Sally Hansen Nail Prism Burgundy Orchid, a burgundy/green duochrome. I then added a few drops of OPI Fireflies, a translucent, milky white with green flash.I got a sort of burgundy and green, which was sort of close to red/green.

I liked the Sally Hansen Nail Prisms, but they were extremely hard to apply correctly. On their own, it took 5 or 6 coats to get the bottle color. I have never seen such gorgeous, vibrant duochromes, especially at drugstore prices, but they were discontinued because they were so user-unfriendly. The trick was to put on a dark base and then paint one or two extremely thin coats of Nail Prisms. But the instructions didn’t say that. This polish would still dent literally a day after application. Even my franken dented.  So I stuck some decals on the worst dents and called it nail art. Perhaps the fact that it never really dried also contributed to the sad demise of the Nail Prisms.

Here’s my red/green duochrome at different angles.

img_0718

img_0733

img_0735

img_0722

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Holiday Garnet

  1. This turned out pretty cool! And I love the nail art stickers over the dents, creative!

  2. Jamie D. says:

    Wow – they look different no matter which way you turn! Lovely job…I think it really turned out nicely!

    Congrats on your new apartment, and good luck with your move…

  3. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    I love duochromes, but they do seem to dry very slowly.
    Have any of you gals tried the Nubar duochromes? I’ve heard good things about them, but they’ll be really hard to get overseas.

  4. Jamie D. says:

    The only Nubar polishes I have are the “Moodies”…which I love. Talk about easy nail art, especially if your nails are longer.

    Nubar won’t ship overseas? Or is it just hard to get them through customs?

  5. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    I will try the Nubar, maybe I should just have it shipped to my parents’ house in the USA and pick up there. Nail polish is considered “hazardous” in Japan and can’t be shipped by air. Since Japan is an island…..that leaves only sea shipping, which takes forever and the packages are always ravaged if they actually do arrive. Also: giant duty tax. I’ll just have a few bottles sent to the US. But then I’ll want some other colors, and well…. I’m sure you gals know that ordering nail polish only leads to ordering more nail polish later.

    Do you have any Nubar recommendations? They all look beautiful, but they’re a little pricey and I want to get some really hard to find/franken colors.

  6. XxSparklesxX says:

    nevertoomuchglitter, How old are you? you are very good at this

Leave a Reply

