Christmas Glitter 1

Here’s something festive and easy to do. You will need white nail polish, red and green glitter topcoats, or red and green glitter and some clear topcoat if you want to mix your own.

img_06581

img_0664

It took about 4 coats to get the white to be opaque.

I made the red glitter with topcoat, one drop of clear red polish, and red glitter.

The green was made the same way, just with emerald green glitter and a drop of green creme polish.

It took two coats of my frankened glitter polish to get an even coat.

The topcoat is made of all my leftover glitter in a bottle of clear varnish- gold, silver, red, green, blue, copper- it’s like a glitterbomb in a bottle.

If you’re not so handy with the art or don’t want to spend all day fussing , this is an easy way to be festive this season!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Holiday Nails, Nail polish and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Christmas Glitter 1

  1. Jamie D. says:

    Great idea! I have a question though – don’t you find it hard to get the glitter off when you’re ready to remove it? I have to admit, I don’t wear glitter polishes much simply because I hate trying to get it off my nails. Maybe it’s just me?

  2. And yet another look you have done that I just love! All your designs remind me of food it seems like. This reminds me of white iced cupcakes with red and green sprinkles – yum yum!

  3. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Jamie- Glitter polishes are a real pain to get off. There’s a special glitter remover in Japan for it which works well. There’s also stuff called Creamed Nail Off, which is a polish remover but in a thick cream rather than liquid. You just put it all over your nails, and your body heat sort of mixes the cream and liquified nail polish, then you can take it off in one swipe. Nails are pretty serious business here and the products are good, but expensive. If I had to sit there all day with the liquid acetone, I wouldn’t do glitter either!

    And Brooke- Thanks as always! 🙂

  4. I have also heard people use a peice of felt instead of a cotton ball to remove glitter polish. I haven’t tried it, but have heard it from several people. Hope it helps!

Leave a Reply

