Jade Green

I wanted a metallic jade color for today, but it wasn’t all that exciting. So out comes the Konad!

img_0633

img_0640

The metallic jade basecoat was made with OPI Need Sunglasses, a medium creme yellow, and OPI Dating A Royal, a medium blue creme. I added this to a gray base (mixed seperately) to get a greenish color, and then added some pearly translucent silver (dollar store!) to make it metallic.

Then, out came the Konad. I’m getting better with it, but it’s still hit-or-miss. I really like the lotus blossom image- it makes me feel peaceful. I only have two Konad plates, but I’m thinking of ordering more as my own Christmas present.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Gray Base, Greens, Konad, Metallic, Nail polish, Pastel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Jade Green

  1. I have been craving one of those Konad systems every since I saw it. Have you seen the argyle pattern and the houndstooth patterns? Those look so great!

  2. Jamie D. says:

    You do a far better job with the Konad than I ever have…I keep thinking I should try it again, but get scared just thinking about it. It’s not that the plates I have are difficult, but something is definitely wrong with my technique (and my nails are just so curved…).

    Great job – love the base franken too!

  3. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    For maximum success with the Konad, I found that you have to pick it up with the stamp IMMEDIATELY. Before, I was cleaning the scraper first and then trying to get the image on the stamp. It’s more like a relay race: scrape and throw it aside and stamp it image. That polish dries crazy quick on the stamp or image plate. I wind up with “special polish” all on my cuticles, palms, and anywhere else. I’m actually trying to franken the special polish using pigments but no great results yet.

    Brooke: I love those patterns- I got the argyle one and it has a couple other cute pattern too. I just got 3 plates to start with. So far, still tricky. Some gals do amazing stuff with the Konad but I’m just happy if it looks halfway decent.

  4. Erika says:

    LOVE this look. So pretty! Great blog, by the way. I can’t believe I haven’t seen it before!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Welcome and glad you like it! I’m back in my apartment and I’ll be putting up a lot of fun stuff in the coming weeks. I need some fun nail art and frankens to get me out of the winter blahs!

Leave a Reply

