Red Hots

First off, let me say I found a gorgeous holiday red. It’s not too warm or cool, just a nice medium red, wth a foil finish that reminds me of Christmas ornaments. I can’t really imagine wearing this any other time but Christmas. It’s Orly Quintessential Crimson.

img_0611

img_0615

Isn’t that a nice holiday red? But, it’s just not festive enough-more glitter!

That’s where China Glaze Fairy Dust comes in!

img_0631

img_06322

This sparkle topcoat makes a nice holiday manicure- it’s very festive. There are lots of glitter topcoats, China Glaze alone makes at least a couple in addition to Fairy Dust. Almost all brands have one. This is only one coat but two would also be nice.

If you aren’t in quite such a holiday mood but still want some red, here’s a quick layer franken:

img_0616

img_0625

This is the Orly OC with a layer of New York Summer Purple Star. It’s an el-cheapo brand that I ordered online when I was ordering some other polishes, and for around a dollar each, they aren’t bad. They’re good for frankens. It’s a very sheer silverish purple. I guess it would take 4 or 5 coats to get this opaque, but it allows the red to show through nicely.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Brights, Nail polish, Reds and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Red Hots

  1. China Glaze Fairy Dust is my absolute favorite! I usually do my two sisters nails, and they were begging me to add the “diamonds” to their nails! Fairy Dust in the sunshine is so gorgous I really can’t stop looking at it 🙂 It really made your red very festive.

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    I also really like the Fairy Dust…it really adds such a nice touch, especially to darker colors. It really made my nails look like Christmas ornaments. This color combo would be especially good for those poor gals who need to have really conservative nails at work. For some reason, red is almost always OK. I guess it must be tradition or something, because nobody look stwice when I wear red but bright blue gets the hairy eye.

    Your sisters sound really cute!

Leave a Reply

