First Snowfall

It’s warm and sunny here in Tokyo, so there is absolutely no chance of snow. It feels like September or October. I’m coming back to the US for Christmas, so maybe I’ll get more into the Christmas spirit then.  But I will be doing lots of fun Christmas ideas throughout December, including some geometric and pop-art ones for those of you who want something festive but not too cute.

This is a deep navy blue with snowflakes, rhinestones and a pine tree.

img_0233

img_0207

img_0221

img_02391img_0209

The snowdrifts are actually the same technique as the blood on my Halloween Dracula nail art.

Navy Blue: Blue creme with a few drops each  of silver shimmer and black creme. Note: You cannot create blue from other colors- it’s a primary color. The other primary colors are red and yellow. Of course, you can alter red, blue or yellow, but you cannot make primary colors from other colors.  So if you don’t have these, get a yellow creme, blue creme, and red. These, along with white and black, will let you franken any color.

Snowdrifts: Paint the tip white white, as if you’re doing a French tip. But load up the brush a little more than usual. After the tip is painted, make the icicle/snowdrift thingies by dragging the brush towards your cuticles. There should be enough paint already on the tip so you don’t have to put more polish on. Make the icicles different widths and lengths. Wobble the brush as you to go to make interesting shapes.

For the snowflakes on the thumb and pinky: Draw an asterisk- make a wide “x” and then put a horizontal line through the middle using your white polish and a fine brush. Add a rhinestone in the center if you like. Add dots on the end if you like, or paint little “x” shapes towards the end of the spokes.

Falling snow: Just dot on white, add some small rhinestones if you like.

Christmas Tree: Paint the shape first with white polish and let dry. Then add a translucent green over it to make the tree. If you paint the tree directly with green, it won’t really stand out. Then add some wavy lines in a “w” shape across the tree with white. Add little red dots or rhinestones if you like.If you want the theme to be more winter rather than Christmas, just paint the tree without the white and red details.

Have fun!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Holiday Nails, Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to First Snowfall

  1. Lucy says:

    What a beautiful manicure! I really admire the artistry of your designs. Just lovely. I’ve only tried to do Halloween nails once. They weren’t very good. I also love all the franken polishes. Do you ever make enough to put in a bottle? Are there empty bottles that you can buy? Keep up all your fantastic work. Enjoying your blog.

  2. Very nice artwork. I really like the blue back ground with the white designs, really makes the artwork stand out. Great job

  3. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thank you very much, this artwork was way globbier than I wanted because my white polish thickened. I’ll be doing some more stripes and geometric desgins, some snowglobes, and a design that I can only call Retro Christmas because I can’t imagine another good name for it.

    Oh, yes, and there will be tons of glitter.

  4. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    You can buy empty bottles online for about $2-3 each (ouch!), but sometimes I just save my empty bottles and clean them out with polish thinner to get them clean. There are very few colors I want to wear over and over again, so I tend to only make enough for a single franken. Actually, I started frankening because I was bored of wearing the same few polishes over and over, and so the color obsession began…

Leave a Reply

