Red Bamboo

During the weekend, I got some Konad plates and the stamp stuff. For those of you that don’t follow nail news all the time, the Konad is this wacky Korean invention consisting of a metal plate with various designs laser-cut into it, ultra-thick nail polish, a scraper, and a rubber stamp. In theory, you dab the special nail polish on the image plate, scrape of the excess with the scraper, pick up the image with the stamper, and stamp your nails.

HAHAHAHA! In practice, I got Konad “special polish” all over my hands, table, etc. and had no images. My stamp simply would not pick them up. I had moderate luck finally with the bamboo stamp. The red was supposed to be like old Japanese lacquer-ware- a blackened red, but not burgundy. It’s a mix of red creme with a couple drops of China Glaze Wagon Trail, which is a black/gold/green shimmer.Wagon Trail is an amazing color by itself, but I love the way it took the brightness out of the red creme and made it look more antique. I don’t think a bright creme red would have been as sophisticated as I wanted. But the black wouldn’t have shown up properly on burgundy. I think this color would be good for fall as an alternative to the more vampy burgundies or red-blacks. I love those too, though.

The manicure looks awful because I opened packages with my nails (yes! I know, I’m bad!) and then, my ring finger broke so it’s shorter than the others.

But here’s a bit of the Far East for you:

img_0304img_03081

The Konad will take a lot of practice, but I’m sure I’ll get the hang of it.  My left hand (my dominant one) looks pretty messy. I’ll just call it “abstract art” if anyone asks.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art, Reds and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Red Bamboo

  1. Fron the pictures it looks to me like you did a fine job! I like the red color, too!

  2. Rachel says:

    You did a great job!! Thanks for sharing your pics 🙂

  3. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Glad you guys like it! I think the Konad will be great fun if I ever get the hang of it- we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

