Holographic Jewel Tones

Sometimes I find color combinations that are really exciting, easy to do, and versatile. I franken colors sometimes out of 5+ colors, but things tend to get muddy. But what I found today can be done in as little as two colors. Excuse the nail polish all over my hands- I was frankening all day!

Check this out:

img_0293

img_0262

These were made with China Glaze GR8, which is a gold holo glitter.

img_0264

This is GR8 by itself.

It’s a kind of warm gold with gold holo sparkle. Adding it to dark colors gives the sparkliest results. I found that a ratio of half color to half GR8 works the best. Bear in mind that the GR8 will  add a yellowish tint to the base color- blue will turn slightly green, red will turn slightly orange, etc.

From left to right: Medium orange creme + GR8, Orly Star of Bombay (navy blue creme with slight shimmer)+ GR8, medium purple creme + GR8, China Glaze Red Curl Girl + GR8.  These colors are really holographic, especially in the light.

But wait! There’s more!

img_0295

img_02271

Left to right: Medium pink creme + GR8, Color Club Explosive + GR8, deep purple creme + GR8, medium green creme +GR8.

All nails are half base color and half GR8.

There is also some silver holos from China Glaze too, but I’m going to try those later. I think these will make a nice pallette of  jewel-like fall tones. The silver glitter will probably make a cool tone, better for spring-like pastels. I’ll be sure to franken some of those, but this is about all the glitter I can handle for one day!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

