Birthday Manicure

This is more nail art than franken. Today was my birthday, so I wanted to use a color I’d been saving: China Glaze Lubu Heels. It’s a translucent black jelly with red microglitter. I figured if there were any objections at my office, I had a get out of jail free card: It’s My Birthday! Everyone knows dress code violations don’t count on birthdays. Actually, no one said anything. These nails look black but the glitter shows in sunlight. It was a really interesting color but I wish the glitter was more prominent. I might add some in another time….but that’s another franken for another day.

I wanted something a little more festive, so I added some round red stickers and gold dots. I was running out of time- originally I’d planned some birthday theme nail art, but decals would have to suffice. I wanted my nails to look sort of medieval but still sparkly.

I used sticker-decals and added gold dots for this. I’ve tried water decals but I can never get them to work right.

For good dots, if you don’t have any decals, try this: Pour out some polish, let it thicken by drying for a few minutes, and dip the tip of a mechanical pencil into the thickened polish and dot on with single motion. Dip your pencil for each dot, but make sure there are no huge blobs ready to fall off. Some people also have good results with acrylic paint from the craft store rather than thickened nail polish, but I haven’t tried this yet.

img_01381img_0122

The photo on the right is the best I could get of the China Glaze Lubu Heels in artificial light, sorry. Deep and sparkly, but really hard to see in anything but bright light.

img_0140

I ran out of time to do my pinkie! I’ll have to make it up to him somehow.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Darks, Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birthday Manicure

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!! I think they turned out pretty cool looking!

  2. shutendoji says:

    Happy Birthday!!! I really like the cross on the ring finger, it looks very cool.

Leave a Reply

