Undercover

Now, before everyone attacks me for frankening a boring and unsassy color, this was intentional. I wanted to franken a color identical to my skin tone on the first try as sort of a weird color challenge. I needed to be pretty conservative at work today, so none of my usual bright or glittery colors. So I decided to mix up a polish in my exact skintone. I did add a tiny bit of shimmer. (I couldn’t help myself!)

img_9951

img_9952

Colors: OPI Tickle My France-y, which is a pinkish beige creme, plus a few drops of white. The color was too pinkish, so I added a tiny bit of light green, like the color of mint chocolate chip ice cream. That evened it out pretty well. I then added a little bit of China Glaze Camisole, which is a translucent beige with silver microshimmer.

As a color, it’s pretty boring, but it was cool to be able to mix the exact color I wanted. I would use this for days when I didn’t want to go out with bare nails but needed to be discreet. Not every day can be fire engine red. I do like this franken better than those really light Essie pinks. I know those light pinks are very popular, but I tried the Ballet Slippers and it just didn’t look good. My nails looked like they caught the flu. Plus, they were super streaky. This was a little more wearable for me. But tomorrow I’m going bright again.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, Pastel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

