Blingtastic Brown

I was aiming for a darkish color that was still sort of fall rather than winter. I love holiday colors, but I’m not ready for red sparkles just yet. So I mixed up a purplish creme brown, but it was just…meh. So of course I added some glitter.

img_9945

img_9942

I now own a few of the China Glaze Kalideoscope colors and some OPI Designer Series, which are holographic, but I was mixing holographic glitters long before I even saw those. I used an old discontinued favorite for the bling, Sally Hansen Pink Rose Diamond. It is a silver rainbow microglitter in a dusty pink base.

I made some violet with red and blue creme, just generic stuff. Then I added some Essie Capri, which is a medium creme orange. It was too dark for my taste, so I added some white until I got a medium purple brown. It sort of looked like poo on, so I added a bunch of Sally Hansen Pink Rose Diamond to the mix and then painted that on. I realize this is probably a similar color to a China Glaze or OPI Designer but it’s all frankened. If you want to make a franken holo, make sure you use the finest glitter possible, or you’ll wind up with gritty, rough polish. A few coats of topcoat will take care of that, but it’s kind of a pain. Go for smooth glitter whenever possible.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Darks, Nail polish and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blingtastic Brown

  1. Wow, this polish has so many diferent colors to it! A rainbow for your nails 😉

Leave a Reply

