Deadly Nightshade

This deceptively simple shade is one of my favorites. It’s a deep blue/purple creme but with no red undertone at all. I love purple, but a lot of times it’s too red for me. It’s kind of a jelly finish because I used translucent colors and mixed in some clear polish to make it less opaque.

img_98631

img_9848

img_9856

I leave my apartment at 6:45 in the morning and usually get home after dark, so these pictures were taken indoors. I may actually wear this color two days in a row and try to get some sunlight photos tomorrow. That’s how much I like this color. It’s as blue as purple can get without being navy. But it is most definitely purple rather than blue.

This one was made of China Glaze Bermuda Breakaway (a deep periwinkle creme) and a couple drops of China Glaze Calypso (navy creme). These colors are both cool with no red undertone. After mixing these together in my muffin tin, I let them sit for a minute to thicken up. Then I added clear polish to the blue mix- not quick dry, just regular old dollar-store clear polish. This was so I could get a more “jelly” like texture. I then added ONE tiny drop of creme red to make the color to purple rather than blue. If you add too much red, you’ll get a warm purple- sort of the color of Grimace at McDonald’s. That could be neat too but I wanted a blue-based purple.

I’ll try to get pics if the sun’s up before I go to work tomorrow!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Darks, Nail polish, Purples and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Deadly Nightshade

  1. cool color! Like this one alot.

  2. Cruz says:

    OMG! I like this.

Leave a Reply

