Day of the Dead Nails

I’m really interested in Dia De Los Muertos, or the Day of the Dead festival that takes place in Mexico on Nov. 1 every year. I’ve never been to Mexico, but I’ve seen the colorful art and amazing candies, murals, candles, costumes, etc. that are part of the festival.

So of course I had to make some Day of the Dead nail art. The best part about it is that the art is colorful, vibrant, but simple. It is homemade and should look like it. Hearts, flowers and of course skulls are a major theme. But the skulls are colorful, not scary. Just go crazy and have fun drawing stuff and use bright colors to capture the spirit, so to speak.

Like Dracula, I had to paint on tips and then glue the tips on because I couldn’t do this kind of art on myself- I am waay to clumsy. I used lots of rhinestones, some holographic star confetti, and bright primary colors. Hope you like it!

These nails should last a few days. If you draw on any shapes with a Sharpie marker, you cannot polish over it as that will dissolve the permanent marker and your design will disappear. But my Draculas lasted about three days and still looked fine.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Brights, Holiday Nails, Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day of the Dead Nails

  1. Deepo says:

    I make an ofrenda every year to honor past relatives and those who passed recently. I LOVE your nails- so cute. I have made jewelry that honors day of the dead symbols, but this is great. terrific job.

  2. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    I’m glad you liked them! I’d love to go to Mexico to see it in person- I definitely will someday. I might just have to recycle those nails if I go.

  3. pretear says:

    I’m really impressed with your nail art, really, it’s amazing.

Leave a Reply

