Coca-Cola Red

Well, though I’ve been loving the Halloween nail art, I had to get a little more professional today. I’ve been doing a lot of reds and oranges, but they’re going perfectly with the Japanese autumn. The leaves have just started to change in Tokyo and there have been a few dark fall days. I think the reddish oranges go well with that. I’ll be doing some yellows and definitely greens and blues if my boss sneaks away from the office.

For now, the respectable (at least for me!) Coca-Cola red. It’s exactly the color of Coca-Cola Classic labels (at least here in Japan). I added a few drops of OPI’s Need Sunglasses (medium creme yellow) to a regular old creme red, about 3 drops yellow in 10 red drops.

It’s hard to tell from my lousy photos, but this is much redder than my recent Mellowcreme Orange franken. Straight red can be boring, but a little hint of yellow can go a long way! For me, creamy, glossy red-orange nails beat out red shimmer any day. I love shimmer, but it can be so…predictable.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Brights, Nail polish, Reds and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Coca-Cola Red

  1. Lucy says:

    Hi! I just came across your website. Love all the nail art that you do. I made a sloppy version of candy corn on each of my nails. It’s my first attempt at nail art. I will definitely have to buy some narrow head brushes. Look forward to more nails. Thanks so much for your art.

  2. Wow, I didn’t realize you were in Tokyo!

    Very pretty color of red! I’m lucky in that I can get away with crazy nail art or colors in my office.

  3. nevertoomuchglitter says:

    Thanks all. Hope everyone had a happy and safe Halloween.
    Let me know if there’s any kind of art or franken colors you want to see and I’ll try my best.

    This month I’m going to do some Indian corn nails, and maybe something Thanksgiving-y in addition to my mad scientist color mixes!

Leave a Reply

