Sparkling Caramel

It’s the season for autumn fairs and candy apples! Today’s nails are the color of caramel and have the tiniest hint of shimmer. They made me feel hungry all day. I sure do wish I could get my hands on a caramel apple…

Sparkling Caramel was made from medium magenta shimmer and yellow creme. After mixing these to get a sort of basketball-colored orange, I added Cardboard brown (light orange +medium green + white) together and then added some black to get a darker shade. You want to lighten and dull the orange to get this creamy caramel color. But this is not a pastel shade, so just adding white to the orange won’t work.

This one is fairly difficult to make but was a fun color to try. It would also look great with a shimmery gold topcoat to make it look a bit more festive, but I wanted to make a creamy caramel color, not an antique gold. Have fun!

This looks a little bit like photos I’ve seen of Lippman’s No More Drama. Same color family at least, though No More Drama is a much more interesting name than Sparkling Caramel.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

