A Supereasy Fall Franken- Mellowcreme Orange

I just came back from a trip to America, where all manner of Halloween candy was out, waiting to ambush my plans to eat healthier. I love those candy corns with the pumpkins- I think they’re called “Brach’s Mellowcremes” or something like that. I can’t remember the exact name, but I do remember the exact color and frankened today’s nails with that as inspiration.

These are really easy to make. Creme red+ creme yellow= orange! The trick to this is to decide if you want a reddish orange or more yellow orange. This is a red orange. Add 1 drop yellow to three drops of red. If you’d like a more tangerine orange, add the red to the yellow 50%/50%. The key to a good franken is patience. Add the colors together in a muffin liner or small, shallow cup and mix the colors together slowly. There will probably be some air bubbles, especially if one of the polishes is thin. Let it sit for 30 seconds to 1 minute and then paint fast!

Try mixing an orange and then adding white to get a lighter shade, or purple to get a darker shade. If you add black, it will get very muddy fast. Fine if that’s what you’re looking for, but black can wreck a color if not used carefully. Have fun with this simple orange and see how many variations you can make with only 3 colors (red, yellow and white).

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, Oranges and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

