Happy Tulip

These remind me of the waxy orange-red tulips growing near my house.

I made a creme orange using red and yellow, but it just wasn’t sparkly enough. Sally Hansen Nail Prisms Pink Rose Diamond to the rescue! I believe this color is also discontinued- I bought it ages ago at a closeout store. Pink Rose Diamond is basically a light pink holographic sparkle. The sparkles flasha holographic silver/light pink. Very nice even by itself. It’s fairly sheer with one coat, medium sheer with two coats, and opaque with three coats. The glitter is microglitter so there’s no chunky buildup. Sometimes I like chunky but it’s hard to pull off and often doesn’t dry right, so I always love to find glitters that aren’t too bulky.

Holo glitter is great as a topcoat but you want to make sure the base color shows through. I use 2/3 holo glitte rand 1/3 clear and mix well to give it a better flow and avoid streaking. These are super glittery in sunlight- will try to get a sunny day photo next time.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Brights, Nail polish, Oranges and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

