Big-League Chew Purple

When I was a kid, there was this shredded bubble gum called Big League Chew which came in a foil pouch. My favorite was the grape. I’m pretty sure that I wasn’t in the target audience, being a totally non-athletic little girl, but I really liked it. I’m not sure who gave me my first pinch. I’m not sure if they still sell or not and I’m far away from America now, but my nail color today reminds me exactly of Grape Big League Chew, circa 1987 or so.

The secret to this one is to add a beige-gray to a reddish purple. All colors should be creme so the finish is really glossy.

3/4 neutral creme red + 1/4 medium creme blue (or dark blue mixed with some white pigment).

Quarter sized mini-puddle of creme white, dab of creme brown and dab of creme black to make a very light gray beige. Like your grandmother’s old girdle- that old fashioned “flesh tone” that never matched ANYONE’s flesh- but with a bit of grey. Cardboard with a touch of mold. Yes, you’ve got it. Add the light color to your purple and there you go! Two to three coats should do it, followed by a shiny topcoat.

I’ll be doing some more of these greyed-out colors because I really like them. They’re wearable, but something different from all those boring berries, beiges and pinks. Don’t get me wrong- I love those colors too, but there’s something really striking about these dusty shades, especially for fall.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, Purples and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Big-League Chew Purple

  1. Atomica says:

    I know exactly the gum you’re talking about. I used to love it, and grape was also my favourite. Wow, that purple polish is beautiful! Amazing job.

Leave a Reply

