Carnival Glass Burgundy

This one is a really hard one to capture. I mixed a translucent burgundy (find a jelly-like red, add 1 or two drops of black or brown) and applied two coats. Finish off with a topcoat of OPI’s Hollywood Blonde mixed in with some clear varnish. IYou don’t want the Hollywood Blonde to overwhelm the burgundy so I’d go half HB and half clear and build up from there. It makes a gorgeous silver-foiled deep red that reminds me of the old carnival glass that my grandmother had. The key is to make a translucent red base. Very antiquey and unusual and harder than heck to capture properly with my camera!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

