China Glaze Paper Chasing Frankens

With my nail polish stash numbering in the 4 figures (even Mr. NTMG doesn’t know exactly how many there are…mwa ha ha), I’ve been sorting through and culling the stash a bit. I find I rarely use sheer polishes, except in occasional nail art where I need a transparent look. I don’t like straight-up translucents very much, since I think they look incomplete, somehow. Just my personal taste.

With that in mind, I decided to do one of my favorite things: add glitter and franken those sheer polishes to add some new life to them. Today’s hardly-ever-used sheer polish is China Glaze Paper Chasing, a sheer nuclear green that falls just short of neon. It’s pretty old- from the Kicks Collection in 2009.

IMG_0069

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here it is on its own, with three rather thick coats. It’s still streaky, but I was running out of patience. It dries pretty slow, but does have a nice gloss on its own, unlike some more neon-y greens.

IMG_0061

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here are the various goodies I added. I used MAC pigments which I bought back in the day before MAC was purchased by Estee Lauder. MAC is no longer cruelty-free after this acquisition, but I’m using up my existing stash of MAC glitters. There are lots of dupes for these particular pigment glitter from cruelty-free options like Coastal Scents, TKB Trading, and Fyrinnae.

Paper Chasing + Blue

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I just added a small spoonful of glitter to a silicone baking cup, then added some Paper Chasing and mixed it up. All swatches below are 2 coats, no topcoat.

Paper Chasing + Gold

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Paper Chasing + Pink

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Paper Chasing + Silver

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Paper Chasing + Silver Glitter

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And finally, a shot of all the colors together, with Paper Chasing as-is on the top. Just goes to show what a little glitter can do! ;)

IMG_0096


What do you guys think? Are you fond of sheers, or find yourself not reaching for them very often?

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Greens, Mixed Colors (Frankens), Nail polish and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to China Glaze Paper Chasing Frankens

  1. MausCrochet says:

    NTMG I love this colours :-)!!

Leave a Reply

