Happy Glittery Friday!

I didn’t set out to do this, but I wound up doing a set of reggae-inspired glitter nails in red, yellow and green.  I had bright, cheery colors on my mind since we’ve been having some dreary gray days in my area, and this is what came out.

I have some superfine champagne silver glitter from the Japanese brand Presto, but any fine silverish glitter will do for these looks. I wanted to start mixing up some glittery summer shades for my toes. I used my trusty silicone baking cups, poured in some polish, added the silver glitter, mixed it up, and voila! Here’s what I got.

First up, a regular red creme: Misa Femme Fatale. A nice, solid red, but I wanted some glitter to jazz it up.

Red Glitter Collage

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A fun juicy red with some twinkle to it. These would look cute with a nautical touch- maybe a blue anchor or stripes?

Next up, Orly Hook Up gets the glitter treatment. On its own, it’s a lemon yellow shimmer, but it is really streaky, as yellows often are. Or at least my bottle is, I’ve had it for a couple years.

Yellow Glitter

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Result: Happy sunshine yellow! The glitter gives a bit of opacity to counteract the streakiness, and the mix looked good after two coats.

Last one is China Glaze Emerald Sparkle. This shade is one of my personal favorites. It’s a very dark evergreen microglitter, but is very Christmas-y. To make it a bit more summery and versatile, the silver glitter lightened it up to a jungle-like tropical green.

Green Collage

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This would look cute with some 3D tropical flowers, wouldn’t it?

Pedi season is coming around! I always find that glitter polishes, even frankened ones, wear like iron, so they’re my go-to choice since I generally wear sandals year round and do lots of beachy stuff, so I need some tough polish! I hate hate hate chipped nails, but somehow it’s worse on the toes. Plus, I never need a good reason to wear glitter. ;)

 

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Mixed Colors (Frankens) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Glittery Friday!

  1. Sissi says:

    Hello there! I am just switching also to cruelty free and love to connect with other cruelty free bloggers- happy to found your sweet blog! I really love the green emerald nail polish!!! Have a great day dear!

Leave a Reply

