Where’s The Nails?

Back from Japan several pounds heavier and with a much lighter wallet! I had a great time, as always, but I have some surprising news to report: Nail art seems to be on the out in Tokyo! I saw polite neutrals, some French tips…but very little in the way of crazy nail art! I’m hoping it’s just a brief moment of nail minimalism before some amazing stuff comes back in vogue. Nail art did have a large boom in the last couple years, so maybe nails are settling down to previously undecorated levels. But have no fear, I’m still making loads of loud and proud nails:

NTMG Nail Art Collage April 2014

Lots of girly stuff, some kawaii cats, and some totally over the top rainbow Swarovski monsters.

I’ve been feeling a little glum since my return from Japan. I really miss it- the four seasons, the fine craftmanship in everything from bento boxes to kimono, the strange fashion, tasty food, and the daily inspiration I got just from walking around the city. It’s not all wonderful-there’s a lot of sexism and racism in Japan (and don’t get me started on how they treat animals and go whaling), but I spent many wonderful years there and I really miss it.  I didn’t want to leave! I literally did not want to get on that plane to go back.

I’m trying to make a go of it in Singapore while Mr. NTMG is working here, but I’ll be honest: I’m really down on it. It’s sticky-hot every day, people shove, push and scream like it’s an Olympic sport, and the national hobby seems to be shopping for designer goods. Even my favorite part (tasty food!) is not working out for me as the grease and MSG make me feel miserable after eating. But the wonderful tastes keep me going back for more! I do cook for myself, but it’s hotter than heck standing over the stove and I’m a fair cook at best. It is not one of my many talents. ;)

So I’ve been feeling pretty down about where I am, but I realized that there is beauty here too: in the fabrics of Little India, brightly colored detailing in a Chinese temple, in the beautiful architecture of Peranakan shophouses. The aesthetic gorgeousness is not as easy to find in Japan and not as integrated into the culture, but it’s still there. I’m going to make a big effort in the coming weeks to find and enjoy some beautiful things- maybe go to some museums, break out my camera and tripod and go on a photo shoot, and perhaps even do some painting. I haven’t done any painting (other than nails, of course!) since I’ve gotten here.

I hope everyone is enjoying either spring or fall, depending on which side of the Equator you’re on! And one heads up as we go into May: For all you summer brides who might be thinking of getting some nails from my shop for your big day/honeymoon etc, PLEASE order early. Mail to the US has been especially slow lately, and every year I get quite a few disappointed gals who found their dream wedding nails just a little too late. The only choices for shipping are (slow) airmail and outrageously expensive FedEx. So please order early!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where’s The Nails?

  1. I’ll look forward to seeing your photography of your new city. Ergh, I hate it when they put too much msg in sauces that aren’t even meant to be thick. I never heard about the racism in Japan before, I guess I thought with it being so cosmopolitan.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I’m definitely going to try and get inspired photos sometime soon- just waiting for the crazy rainstorms to end. This might be a long wait in Singapore, though! Japan is 99% Japanese, so they tend to be very distrustful/suspicious of the non-Japanese and there is a lot of legally allowed discrimination and racism that goes along with such a homogenous culture. But it’s mostly invisible unless you’re living there.

Leave a Reply

