Teapot Inspired Nails

I’m a color junkie at heart, and I spend a lot of time mixing up custom colors when I can’t find exactly what I’m looking for. Today, I have some nails inspired by the humble teapot.

I couldn’t find the exact shade of gray I wanted- I know Color Club makes something very close to this teapot shade, but I don’t have those newer neutral shades, so I frankened up one myself with black Essie Licorice (Essie is no longer cruelty-free, but I have still polish in my stash from their kinder days), a few drops of medium yellow (China Glaze Sunshine Pop to add a hint of warmth, and some creme white with Misa Kiss the Bride.  Here’s what I got!

Teapot nails

When making any frankenpolish that involves black, add the black to your palette first. It’s way too easy to add too much black to an already mixed shade and get a much darker color than expected, which means you will have to add a ton of white to lighten it up. Start with the darkest shade, add the main color (in this case white) and then tint the resulting mixture (here with yellow to warm it up a bit).

Of course, I can’t resist adding some details, so some roses and handpainted vines finished the look! I had to hold back on the mini rhinestones, which would have looked lovely scattered on the nail, but didn’t really match with the rustic-ness of the teapot. So, next time, I’m just going to have to buy a more bedazzled teapot! ;)

 

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Gray Base, Mixed Colors (Frankens) and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Teapot Inspired Nails

  1. Kay says:

    These are incredibly neat and beautiful! How did you get the roses so 3D looking?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you! These are actually teeny rose decals, though I do a lot of my own sculpting with 3D acrylic when the need arises. :)

  2. These are beautiful! And I love that teapot. I’m a collector of different teapots, and the one I have my eye on next is very similar.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you! I’m also a teapot collector- this particular one is just a cheap-o from a local shop, but I really like it! Can’t go wrong for $5- and if I drop it, I don’t have to feel bad. :)

  3. bmweed says:

    Okay, now I think you are just showing off! This is STUNNING.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thank you! These were a lot of fun to do. I don’t always go matchy-matchy but it’s fun every now and again. :)

  4. misslove2807 says:

    These are super pretty and I love your teapot as well :D

  5. BaroquenNails says:

    These are very pretty! It is like those decals were made just for this design lol

Leave a Reply

