Tokyo Nail Expo 2013 Art Contest Awards

Finally! I’ve got the results from the 2013 Tokyo Nail Expo art contests. Click to enlarge!

The nails in the top 3 rows were all painted live at the Expo. The top row is Freestyle Fashion, 2nd row is “Men’s Nail,” and 3rd row is Flat Art.

IMG_0001

And my favorite part for last! The very bottom row features the 1st, 2nd and 3rd place winners for the Nail Art Tip Award. These nails were painted before the contest and the public voted for the nails. The theme was “Fresh Flesh.” Although these nails were lovely, I am disappointed that very few of them actually paid attention to the theme. The #2 does have a baby and a stork, so I guess there’s some Fresh Flesh, but I think the floral/butterfly nails don’t really follow the theme as far as I can tell. Lovely work, but not really unique or particularly clever. Not sure what they’ll be doing for next year, but I hope to see something really unique for 2014. ¬†Great work and congrats to all!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Japanese Nail Art, Nail Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tokyo Nail Expo 2013 Art Contest Awards

  1. Hanks for showing us the results. I remember looking at the ones from your last post and thinking apart from the ones with fruit, there wasn’t anything fresh about the rest. Yes, I suppose a new baby is pretty fresh though! Still amazingly intricate and awesome!

  2. Wow! Very impressive nail art! Interesting to see who won. Thank you for sharing this.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      My pleasure! They make you wait till the magazine comes out unless you stick around for the award ceremonies, which were just a little too crowded for me. I hope they change the rules to be a little more strict about the theme so we can see more diversity in the nails next year.

  3. But I also think it’s strange that so few seemed to have something to do with “Fresh Flesh”.

Leave a Reply

