Indie Nail Polish Review- I <3 NP Duochromes in Birefringence, Cygnus Loop, Mutagen and Nostalgia

Happy New Year, all! Today I’m reviewing some awesome indie nail polishes by I <3 NP.

I’m a huge fan of duochromes, the kind of nail polish that shifts color according to the angle of the light. They’re not color-changing due to heat or UV light, they just have different pigments that catch the light in different ways. Long long ago, Sally Hansen had a line of duochromes called Nail Prisms, which were pretty fab but flopped on the market due to their sheerness and thin yet gloopy formula. The trick was to layer them over a dark color, but that wasn’t really mentioned, so they wound up on the shelves of discounters.

But…I’m here to tell you there’s an awesome modern polish that’s cruelty-free and equally fantastic! It’s made by I (Heart) NP, and the customer service is great and the shipping is fast. I ordered four of the most colorful duochrome polishes in Birefringence, Cygnus Loop, Mutagen and Nostalgia.

IMG_1793

Really nice packaging!

IMG_1808

Ooohhh…aaaahhh- shiny joy!

Nostalgia

Nostalgia.

Cygnus Loop

Cygnus Loop.

Birefringence

Birefringence.
Mutagen

Mutagen.

I’m really short on time at the moment, but I was dying to show these off, so I just swatched them on a little nail swatchy chart. I’ve had Cygnus Loop on my toes for 2 days and it appears to be wearing pretty well with no chips or dulling of the polish. The polish looks great, but my toes do not, so I shall spare you having to view my feet.

Scary toes aside, the swatches are as follows: #1 is Nostalgia, #2 is Cygnus Loop, #3 is Birefringence and #4 is Mutagen. This is two solid coats of the polish without topcoat. I took these photos in natural light, no flash.

I Love NP

The formula is great- very smooth and no brushstrokes or baldy spots, which can sometimes be a problem for duochromes.

Cygnus Loop and Birefringence look similar in the photos, but Cygnus Loop is a stronger fuschia/warm purple whereas B is a purple with an icy blue flash. Both are lovely, but folks who prefer warm tones should go with Cygnus Loop. You can’t go wrong either way.

Mutagen is a teeny bit more sheer than the others, but still pretty solid in two coats.  You could layer these over a darker shade and I think you could get away with one coat on top with a good duochrome effect if you wanted to conserve polish. The cost is $12.50 per 12ML bottle. The polishes are 3-free, cruelty-free and do not contain animal ingredients, making them a great choice all around.

These polishes are available at the ILNP shop here or on Etsy. There’s also tons of other polishes available, including holos and glitter bombs, but being I’m a duochrome maniac, these are the ones I chose. Barbra, the owner, was great in answering my questions and dealing with shipping to Singapore. I’m very happy with these and will definitely be using them in my nail art creations!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, Store-bought Colors and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Indie Nail Polish Review- I <3 NP Duochromes in Birefringence, Cygnus Loop, Mutagen and Nostalgia

  1. GlitterKat says:

    Reblogged this on Glitterati Nails and commented:
    LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!!!

  2. GlitterKat says:

    Love this!!!! Gorgeous polish!!

  3. Pam says:

    Salivating. That’s all I can say.

Leave a Reply

