Labradorite-Inspired Nails

If there’s one thing I like almost as much as glittery nail polish, it’s big chunky rings. I have small hands, so they tend to look somewhat ridiculous, but that has never stopped me before!

Mr. NTMG bought me a pretty Labradorite and silver cocktail ring. It’s a hard color to describe- a murky yellowed-green with flashes of blue and muted yellow in certain lights. The edges of the stone are very dark, and there are dark, thin veins running diagonally across the stone. Sort of reminds me of the House Of The Dead arcade game, actually.

As those of you who have been blog readers for a while know, I got my start in the nail world by mixing up weird colors. So today, I’m back to my roots! I wanted to make a Labradorite-inspired nail polish color, since I don’t have anything in that exact shade. I mixed half China Glaze Holly-Day (medium dark neutral green creme) and half China Glaze Cosmic Dust (dark gunmetal holo) then added a few drops of Barielle Gelt Me To The Party (bronzed metallic deep copper) to add the warm yellowy flash.

Here’s what I got:

Labradorite Ring Nails by NeverTooMuchGlitter

I’ll be onto some holiday nail art and DIY tutorials next, but I thought this would be fun to share!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Greens, Mixed Colors (Frankens) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Labradorite-Inspired Nails

  1. I love your inspiration and you’ve done it perfectly, awesome! You’ve inspired me to do a Tigers Eye semi precious stone look.

  2. beachgal says:

    Lovely – I am a big fan of Labradorite .

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Me too- it’s so mysterious! I saw a Laboradorite covered bathroom once and fell in love. Ah, if I was rich….;)

Leave a Reply

