MoYou Stamping Plate Suki 01 Review

Today I have a very unique MoYou Stamping Plate to show you. They have several different collections- this is Plate #01 from their Suki Collection.

The plate is well-constructed with a plastic back. Instead of individual images, it is a large montage type image with various Japan-inspired tidbits like cherry blossoms, tigers, fans and an owl. (I’m not sure what he’s doing there, but he’s kind of cute.)

Here’s the plate:

IMG_3905

Given the size of the images, this plate will work better on larger nails. Smaller nails will just have partial details on them- it still looks cool, but it will be hard to see the whole picture. I’ve done some stamping on longer blank nails.

Nails 1-6 are just random stamping, and nails 7-12 show an image stretching across the nails.

IMG_3915

Here are the images stamped with Konad black polish. The stamping is clean- any smudging is because I didn’t clean the stamp properly, not due to any issues with the plate. The stamping is clean and vivid, but as with all larger/bolder stamps, you will need to work quickly.

These designs are very intricate, but to make them pop, they need a little color (in my artistic opinion, anyway!)

IMG_3924

For a little color, I use Turner Acryl Gouache. You can use acrylic paint too. Water it down, so it’s transparent, and then brush it on. It’s OK to be messy- the objective is just a touch of color for an artistic look. You can paint super neatly if you want too- it’s up to you!

IMG_3926

And…since my name is NeverTooMuchGlitter- I added some rhinestones and a layer of glitter for a little extra oomph. Finish off with a good topcoat and you’re ready to go!

IMG_3949

I’m pretty satisfied with this MoYou plate- it stamps well and is well constructed. You will need to work fast with it, as the designs are intricate and large and the stamping polish will dry quite quickly.

I’d recommend this plate for larger nails or pedicures to get the maximum visual impact. However you use it, is of course, up to you! This plate is 4.99GBP and is available online from MoYou.

What do you guys think? Will you be trying these mega-sized plates out?

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to MoYou Stamping Plate Suki 01 Review

  1. Bunnie Lee says:

    That’s really interesting! And mad props on the stamping. But I dunno. I feel like I’d get bored with big stamps like that. It’s super intricate and distinct, but that’s kinda also its weakness. Not as versatile. I’m really curious about the silicone plates because of that. Multiple colors in one stamping? Yes please!

    I love the painting you did though! Looks amazing.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks! The big stamps can be fun, but they can also be limiting in a way due to the size. Now if only I had a giant nail, like an elephant toe, to do the whole plate! ;) I don’t own any silicone plates myself but I’d like to try them.

  2. Nice review! Love the way you colored it. And thanks for the tip about watering out the paint. I’ll try that next time. Do you like guache better than acrylic paint? I’ve never tried guache on nails.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks- I’m so glad you liked it! Gouache and acrylic both work fine, the gouache tends to dry a bit more matte. It’s all about finding a brand you like that’s easy to work with, though. :D

  3. asimanails says:

    Nice review, thanks for sharing! I´m just waiting for my plates, I ordered the other big plates from Suki collection. This one is also amazing!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      It’s my pleasure! My order got messed up and some plates were left out, so I’m waiting for that to be remedied before I do any more reviews, but I have a bunch of other plates and they’re really fun too. But no more reviews until my order gets fixed!

  4. This is incredible. INCREDIBLE! :))

  5. Püppi says:

    i just ordered 3 big plates yesterday and cant wait to try them out =) love the coloring you added!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      The delivery can be a bit slow but the quality is really good and the plates are unique-have fun with them!

Leave a Reply

