Cheeky Beauty XL Stamping Plate Review of “Princess Charming”

I have something fun to show you today- a nail art stamping plate from Cheeky Beauty! These can be bought directly from Cheeky Beauty for around $11, which is a very good deal for such a large plate.

The plates are mounted on a plastic backing which extends on all sides. It does make the plates a bit thicker for storage, but prevents those nasty sharp edges. I have some Fauxnad plates with edges literally sharp enough to cut skin. Ouch! So that plastic backing is definitely a nice touch.

The plates have a thin blue protective coating on them which must be peeled off before the plate can be used. It comes off easily from the corners.

The images on the plate are engraved well and produce clear images. I always use genuine Konad scrapers, stampers and polish. I haven’t had good luck with off-brand stamping polishes. Regular metallic polish can be used for stamping, but you will need to be very fast as it dries much quicker than regular stamping polishes.

Sorry for the lousy photos, these plates are like mirrors and I’m trying to avoid distracting reflections!

So here’s some images from the Cheeky “Princess Charming” plate stamped with Konad black polish. There are individual small images about 1/4 inch wide to 1/2 inch that should fit on most nails with room to spare, and then there are quite a few full-nail patterns. My personal favorite is the helicopter and the fat cat laying on his back (though I am not quite sure what they have to do with the princess theme! Still very cute anyway.)

Here’s a bit more of a close-up look:

Princess Charming Collage The smaller images stamp particularly well, though you will have to work quickly. The lines are very fine on some of the images, so the polish dries very fast and the design may not transfer properly. This is an issue with any stamping system, not just Cheeky.

The full nail patterns are pretty good but some of the larger, bolder lines were not always totally crisp. All in all, though, I’d say these plates are great value and I’d definitely recommend them, though I’d say to use Konad polish and stampers. I don’t think Cheeky makes stamping polishes, actually. All in all, a very good buy!

I’m sorry for the lack of posts lately. I seem to be losing a lot of enthusiasm for blogging. There’s a lot of negativity in the blogosphere due to the high level of anonymity, and unfortunately a lot of people use that as a way to abuse others. I truly cannot understand why, if a person doesn’t like something, why they keep coming back to it again and again and leaving comments. Wouldn’t that time be better spend involved with something you *do* like? If you think nail art is dumb/ugly/tacky/a waste of time, then why stop by blogs devoted to it? It really doesn’t make any sense to me!

I’ve been a lot more active on Facebook since there’s much less trolling there (at least for now, at least!). I post photos of what I’m working on over there regularly. You don’t need a Facebook account to view the page, so feel free to check it out if you’re interested in a daily dose of glitter! :)

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Konad, Supplies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Cheeky Beauty XL Stamping Plate Review of “Princess Charming”

  1. You did a good job with the nail wheel! I bought Cheeky plate 9 and 10, and like them, but I managed to remove the pattern on the plastic with nail polish remover… Sorry to hear about the negative comments. It’s sad. I’ve seen that some youtubers don’t remove what those bad people write, and make fun of them.

  2. Vivian says:

    Ignore the haters.

    Your skill and interest are great. I am happy to have surfed onto your blog. Keep painting.

  3. Oh, oh, oh, thanks for the review :) I already ordered these Jumbo plates! a few days ago! but I’m so excited and impatient I keep googling them and reading even more reviews. Before I bought them I went to lacquerorleaveher’s blog – she did a review of ALL 10 plates, super detailed and she out a lot of work into them :) To be honest, I was the most in love with Viva Mexico and the least with this one, Princess Charming, but since I’m so new to stamping (I started a week ago and only posted stamping on a blog today) and I only have sort of beginners plates I ordered cheap from eBay (just to check whether or not stamping would be for me, if you know what I mean) I decided to go ahead and order 10 of the Cheeky Jumbo plates, as the reviews are as positive as yours. Your comment on the fat cat totally endeared me to this plate so thanks, I’m more excited for it now, haven’t noticed this cat before :P
    Sorry for the long comment. Just one more thing – I really like the fact you’re realistic and honest and talk about the necessity really of Konad stamping polishes – I don’t have them, cause they’re super expensive for me, but from all of what I’ve been reading and practicing stamping (I bought a few Sally Hansens for it) it really seems like you gotta have them, for the opacity and thickness, at least black and white. Well, I’ll keep saving ;))
    This plate seems really cool, even if I’m not really into cutsy stuff and stamps really well, thanks for those nail wheels:) Is Princess Charming the only jumbo you own?
    If you read up to this point, wow. :) cheers, Cat

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Cat! The Jumbo plates are really nice and good value for the money. I do love that fat cat! :D
      I do have the other plates and will review as time allows but the quality on all them is fairly similar from what I’ve seen so far. Definitely get dedicated black/white stamping polish. I often don’t buy things in a kit, as what I have to hand will usually suffice, but the stamping polishes are a necessity. You can mix all the colors you want from black, white, red, blue and yellow- just keep the brushes clean!

      • Oh! That’s a good tip ! I’ll try mixing once I decide to finally order the polishes ;) Aaah, ok, then I’m definitely subscribing and waiting for more reviews :)

  4. OMG. I swear I’m not insane, but I gotta add this. It sort of made me sad, when you write about negativity and all, DON’T LET THE HATERS GET TO YOU! (I know, easy to say, but still. :))
    And ‘love of colour’ was what brought me to the world of nail art too, then I started messing with other elements;) But, really, COLOURS <3
    Ok. I swear that's all.
    Take care,

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks for your kind words- I’m getting back on my blogging feet again. There are lots of unhappy folks out there, and the best thing I can do is wish them peace and then block their IP addresses! No need to let them in my head. :D

  5. Alina says:

    From where can I buy cheeky plates? Only from their website, they don’t have shops?

  6. Arlene says:

    You just made placing full nail images from my Cheeky plates much easier! I couldn’t figure out what to do with that curved part, but now it makes total sense! Thank you so much!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      My pleasure! The Cheeky plates are really fun and a good value for the money. I’ve enjoyed using them. :)

Leave a Reply

