DIY Textured Polishes

Textured polishes are all the rage right now, but I’m kind of on the fence about them. I personally don’t like texture on my nails since it makes me want to pick at them. I do see potential to do some fun nail art with them, though I haven’t tried anything yet.

I do like the kind of “sandy” matte look, though definitely not enough to invest in a bunch of polishes that I probably won’t use frequently. So, you guys know what happens next, right? ;)

Yup, I whipped out the franken-polish making materials! My goal was to create a nail polish with a matte finish, a teeny bit of texture that had a kind of sandy look, but without being too lumpy on the nail surface.

Taa Daa!

PicMonkey Collage

My secret weapon in this case was China Glaze Ray-Diant, a silver based multi-glitter.

IMG_7792

I basically just tinted it with different shades- the pink nail at the top was the result of adding red polish. The silver in the base will lighten red to pink. I just poured a bit of the Ray-Diant into my trusty silicone baking cup, then added color nail polish drop by drop to get the colors I wanted. I recommend using the sheerest colors you can find to let the opacity of the glitter show through a bit- that’s the key to the “sandy” surface. This dried matte-ish all on its own. You could add a matte topcoat if you want a really matte finish. They are the tiniest bit gritty and will probably be a pain to remove, but I like the look.

I’m testing out a few shades on my toes at the moment, but they seem to be wearing pretty well. For me, mixing up my own slightly textured shades is a good alternative to purchasing a lot of textured polishes which are fun but a bit gimmicky. I may experiment with making these more textured for the folks out there who really love their gritty nails! Maybe some teeny glass beads or something could be in order for that. But for me, this is as textured as I’ll probably go on a daily basis.

What do you guys think of textured polish? Love it or hate it?

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Mixed Colors (Frankens), Pastel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DIY Textured Polishes

  1. Love the look! I go the other way & find a color I like & mix some of Avon’s glitter dust in…can be messy, but keeps the polish color better!

    Figured out that putting small pieces of cotton soaked in remover on your fingers & letting it set for a minute or two is MUCH easier for removing textured looks! Takes the same amount of time as “scrubbing” with the cotton, but less stressful! I “borrowed” from the technique you see all over Pinterest that wraps foil around the cotton. That way I can still read on my iPhone while it’s working its magic! ;-D

    LOVE your blog! Very inspiring, even if I’m not that proficient yet!

Leave a Reply

