Product Review- Butter London Melt Away Cuticle Eliminator

Whoa! This product has really impressed me, so I thought I’d do a review and share it with you guys.

It’s Butter London Melt Away Cuticle Eliminator.

Butter London Melt Away Cuticle Eliminator

My absolute least favorite part of nail work is any skin around the nails/cuticles. I hate scraping them, nipping/cutting them and pushing them back gives me the major heebie jeebies. Nail prep was definitely not my favorite class in nail school! By the way, in most US jurisdictions, it’s illegal for a nailist to cut away any live skin, since you need medical training. If your salon professional is cutting off anything that bleeds, that is not a good sign. Just FYI.

Point is, I hate the cuticle torture. I got to the point where I can enjoy it on other people, after getting a lot of reassurance that what I was doing was not painful, but I absolutely cannot stand to let others work on me. Just gives me the plain ol’ willes. o_O

That’s why this stuff is great! I’ve tried a lot of different cuticle removers, including strong professional grade ones, but this is easily the best. It applies with a brush, and doesn’t sting or burn (at least when the Mr. and I tested it).

The proof is in Mr. NTMG’s toes.  Warning: hairy man-feed ahead!

IMG_5358

Hairy man-toes aside, look at those lovely and clean nails! I’m sorry for the stars and funky lighting, but the toes in all their stark, unedited glory were leaving the Mr. a little over-exposed, so he got a little jazzy editing. ;)

I do use a metal cuticle pusher on the nails since I’ve been to nail school and got confident using it. These work really well but have the potential to do a LOT of damage if used incorrectly. If the thought leaves you a little apprehensive, you can use an orangewood stick or plastic cuticle pusher (the end looks like a little upturned horse hoof).  Be gentle!

As with all chemical cuticle remover, it’s a good idea to wash your hands after use, since it can dry out the skin if left on. And don’t forget a nice squeeze of hand cream at night to keep your hands looking their best.

Is this a product everyone needs? Not really. Some people have more overgrown skin around their nails than others, so your need for a cuticle remover may vary. Cleaning up the edges does make for neater looking nails, whether or not you polish them. For me, I find applying hand cream faithfully at night does a lot to keep the raggedy edges and hangnails at bay. But if you want a really clean cuticle line with minimal nipping and pushing, this is a painless way to do it.

Well, not entirely painless to the wallet. I paid around $24USD for this here in Singapore. I’m not sure if it’s just marked up crazily, as many cosmetic products here are, but it’s probably never cheap. But it’s cruelty-free and works really well, so I don’t regret the splurge. Highly recommended!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Supplies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Product Review- Butter London Melt Away Cuticle Eliminator

  1. Kellie Fox says:

    Ive been searching on line for Cuticle remover reviews on what is the best out there…. and i came across your blog (Yey) Butter London is scary priced, its £18 for this particular product in the UK….so i NEED to make sure it does what it says it will before i scare my purse and buy it…..Thank you for the review, i know your hubby felt all naked but i would of liked to see a before and after and more clear but your review has made me feel better about spending the insane amount for this.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I’m usually pretty cheap, and I say this is worth the money. A little goes a long way. I have pretty good cuticles myself, so I can’t show you a good before and after, I’m afraid, but it’s the best product of its kind I’ve tried. I say go for it if it won’t break the bank! If there’s a Sephora in your area, ask if they offer returns- I think they all do in the US, but not sure about other areas.

  2. Marie says:

    I have never heard of this product before and Just took a chance and bought it today Melt Away. I was amazed at how quick and good this product worked. I payed £6.99 from TK max in Glasgow but retailed original price was £19.99. I was grudging even paying this amount as the product is non returnable and if didn’t work then I would have lossed out, but I’m well happy with outcome. My Cuticles were pretty bad, skin was hard growing and broken around my nails, now the skin is feeling and looking smooth and healthy. I am so glad I bought it. Happy customer, don’t hesitate go buy it now, you will love it, and painless to, your worth it….

Leave a Reply

