Back From Thailand!

I’ve just gotten back from a trip to Thailand. It’s just a short hop from Singapore, but it was still fun to get away. I was hoping to score some Thai nail goodies, but there wasn’t a lot of unique stuff there.  Some rhinestones/pearls, but nothing really compelling.

I did find a brand of nail polish which I haven’t seen elsewhere, called Beauty Buffet. It’s supposed to be cruelty-free and “natural” but I’m not sure if I was just getting the old hokey-dokey from the staff. I wanted to buy the whole store but I just got a few colors that I’ll swatch for you later:

Beauty Buffet Thailand

Some other goodies I got:

IMG_4977

Scrapbook albums, a denim purse with bling (shock!), some loofah soaps, nail polish, incense, scarves, an elephant change purse, a teeny glass dragon, and a tiny poreclain dish. The sparkly nail polish is pretty super-stinky so I just may have to bin it.

Besides hunting for nail goodies, we went to the weekend market, Wat Pho/Grand Palace, and did plenty of eating. I got a couple lovely massages and a root beer float at A&W. Not at all Thai, but delicious and I don’t know of any actual A&Ws still left in the US, or at least none in New England. I never turn down a root beer float, even if it’s not particularly ‘authentic’ to wherever I am. :)

Here’s a few of the snapshots I took, mostly of Wat Pho. It is a temple next to the Grand Palace and is blingy beyond belief! Loads of shiny tiles, gold, and porcelain tile work.

thai collage 3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And since no post is really complete without some nail art, here it is:

IMG_4943

L-R: Thai palace guardian statue, tile work, orchid, gold leaf, and the Thai flag.

IMG_4971

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These are  more inspired by Thai textiles and art, rather than any specific item. One of my favorite parts of Thai art is that it doesn’t have to be perfect. Crumbly statues, peeling paint, etc. is all part of the charm. I’m not sure if it’s accidental or on purpose, but I like it!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Non-Nail Stuff, NTMG Original Nail Art, Store-bought Colors and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Back From Thailand!

  1. Kitty Chen says:

    Your trip seemed absolutely amazing :)! I love how you captured a set of nail art with inspirtation from Thailand and it’s art/culture

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks so much! I love Thai art and I have a couple more sets in mind. The Thais like shiny stuff almost as much I do, so their art is always a good source of inspiration. :)

  2. Andrea says:

    Come out west! There’s plenty of A&W’s here!
    Beautiful nails!

  3. Akaleistar says:

    What awesome goodies and fabulous nails!

  4. Kayleigh says:

    Beautiful Thai nail art!!

  5. There is an A&W on route 7 in Middlebury VT, open only in the summer, and it is an old fashioned drive-up. They serve you in your car with those little trays that hook onto your car window.!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      That is awesome! I never need an excuse to go to VT as it is, but that just might have clinched it! Next time I’m back in the US in summer, I’m heading to Middlebury! Thanks for the tip. :)

Leave a Reply

