Some Quick and Easy DIY Valentine’s Nail Art Ideas

Hello all! With Valentine’s Day fast approaching (with Chinese New Year and Mardi Gras all stuffed into the same week!), I have a couple last minute nail art ideas for you. For those of you who are still a wee bit hesitant about the nail art, I recommend just doing one accent nail. It’s a great way to be festive without going too over-the-top. Paint 9 nails in a simple color of your choice, then do art on one finger! I can paint both hands with some fairly intricate art, but this is a skill that takes forever to get good at. Unless you invest a lot of time into it, your dominant hand will never look quite as good as the other one.

Here’s a nail wheel of some simple ideas. I made most of the hearts with a dotting tool- check out my mini-tutorial here if you’re not familiar with these. I also used some tiny heart confetti from a craft store. If you add these to a wet coat of nail polish, then seal with a clear topcoat, you should get a day’s wear out of them.

Image

Left to right: Little envelope sealed with a kiss (this is not my idea, I’ve seen it floating around but it’s really cute and easy!), French heart cutout, pink and black hearts with dots and silver confetti, Love pills with tiny heart confetti, a simple lace doily, and a heart with dots and flourishes. If these looks are a bit too much, you can also get tiny heart rhinestones from the craft store and stick one on for the day.

And, for those of you who aren’t feeling the love:

Image

Just for fun, of course. I’m a happy old married lady now but I can’t resist a good old anti-Valentine’s manicure.

And since V-Day is tomorrow, here’s my (totally unsolicited) love advice: If someone is a creep to you once, they’re gonna be creepy again. I’m not talking about innocent creepiness, like forgetting a date or buying a hideous present or blurting out the wrong thing. I mean: hurting your feelings on purpose, playing games, and doing the hot/cold thing where one day they’re in love with you and the next they ignore you. Lose those people with a quickness! Don’t sit around waiting for them to change- ship out and distract yourself with something fabulous instead. Oh, and don’t “be friends” afterwards except in the rarest of circumstances. If they disrespect you in a romantic relationship, they are not going to become wonderful and caring people in a friendship. Spare yourself future drama and run like you’re on fire! Then paint your nails with something dark and vampy. ;)

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Holiday Nails, Nail Art, Nail polish, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Some Quick and Easy DIY Valentine’s Nail Art Ideas

  1. Sara says:

    Thank you so much for doing holiday nail ideas before the holiday. A lot of the blogs I follow do posts of, Here is what I did for the Holiday, after the fact.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Oh, it’s my pleasure! I also feel a little disappointed when I see an awesome idea too late! I will try to do my posts a little earlier, but with the Chinese New Year, I was busier than I thought. Next holiday: St Patty’s Day! I’m not Irish but I can think up some fun designs. :)

  2. Wow, thank you for the inspirational advice its just what I need right now <3 :)

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hope things are getting better- breakups and saying goodbye can be really hard! Some relationships are better off DONE but it’s still not easy to get through.<3

Leave a Reply

