2 China Glaze Hologlam 2013 Sneak Peek Swatches

As you guys know, I don’t ordinarily showcase commercially available polish colors on here, since there’s so many other folks doing swatches of new collections so fantastically. I’ve always prefered to mix my own shades, but every now and again, a polish comes my way that I can’t resist! In this case, it’s the new China Glaze Hologlam collection. I have two shades to show you today- both pinks.

In a side note, I’m sorry for the ugly watermarks I now have to put on, but unfortunately people out there are stealing my photos, cropping out my watermark, and then adding their own. If you’re selling something, take your own darn pictures! Grr! Thus, I now need a bigger, uglier in-your-face watermark. Boo.

Without further ado, here’s Infra Red from the Hologlam collection:

IMG_4306

China Glaze Infra Red

It’s a mid-tone fuschia with a nice, if not super-obvious holograph finish. It shifts in the light nicely and provides some interest, but is not too in your face. I prefer a bit more obviousness in my holo finishes, but then again, I’m pretty tacky and not ashamed to admit it.

And here’s Get Outta My Space, a pale cool-toned pink.

IMG_4321

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The holo in this one has almost a silvery, metallic finish without much color shift to it. It’s also quite subtle, in my opinion. Kind of reminds me of moonglow, which is probably in keeping with the space theme of the collection.

The formula on these was very nice- two coats and it’s smooth and opaque with very little streaking. They need a topcoat to look their best.  Despite the fact that the holo is pretty subtle (at least in my bottles), I do like the collection and will probably pick up the remaining shades in the collection. There is no way I’m aware of to franken a holo, except to maybe tint a silver holo with a sheer polish to make a new shade. It must be some kind of light-reflecting particles of some sort, but I don’t know exactly how it works.

What do you guys think? Will you be picking up any of the collection?

 

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish, Store-bought Colors and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 2 China Glaze Hologlam 2013 Sneak Peek Swatches

  1. Frankenstyna says:

    “…I’m pretty tacky and not ashamed to admit it.”

    LMAO … me too! :)

  2. Cheryl Lemon says:

    I plan to get the entire collection. It’s so frustrating that is already available in Singapore. I can’t wait for them to come to the U.S. I have been stalking google everyday trying to find a way to order them now or at least to do a preorder. I had a few of the colors from the OMG collection. These look a lot like them.

  3. Love these! I already have the very similar colors .sans holograph .So when I saw these …a big smile on my face!

  4. stephnickie says:

    I’m also not afraid to admit that I prefer the tackiest nail sparkle available, and that these polishes just don’t cut it for me in the holo department. However, I do think that the Get Outta My Space silvery pink is gorgeous in it’s own rite. xo!

  5. Pingback: China Glaze Hologlam 2013 Swatches And Review | Nevertoomuchglitter's Weblog

  6. beachgal says:

    Sad. I so looked forward to this collection and it’s leaving me underwhelmed in the photos I have seen so far from yours to a few others cropping up.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yeah, it was a bit underwhelming. China Glaze has done better before- I know they can make a good holo polish, but these just feel a bit weak both in the color payoff and holo-level. Worth getting a couple if you can find them for several bucks each, but not a stalk-worthy-pay-over-the-odds kind of collection.

Leave a Reply

