How To Tint Glitterbomb Polish To Get More Shades!

I’ve been noticing a lot of polishes the Japanese call “milky glitters” around. For those of you not so quite into the lingo, that’s any glitter polish (usually of different sizes and shapes) in a translucent base that lets the layers of glitters shine through. They are buildable but on the sheer side. Lots of smaller independent nail polish companies make their own versions of these.

On a side note, I’m kicking myself- independent nail polish companies making small individual batches have really taken off recently, and that’s been my specialty for at least 4-5 years! Unfortunately, I couldn’t sell any of my polish creations due to the fact that I’ve been living on Asian islands for the past decade. The postal services do not take kindly to shipping nail polish by air since it is flammable and thus illegal. Being overseas, sea mail would take weeks if not months, so I had to sit out the fantastic trend of selling frankened nail polish! Boo!! Luckily, I still enjoy making creations to show you guys, so there’s always that. But I think I missed the glittery gravy train. ;)

OK. Back to the polish. If you like the milky glitter look, I have some good news for you. Tint it with some sheer polishes and you can make magic!

First off, I used a milky white-based multiglitter polish from Etude House, a Korean brand. I did write to them, and they confirmed they didn’t test on animals, so I went ahead and bought this. But…somehow I’m left wondering if they understood my enquiry. Possibly not, so I think this will be my last Etude House polish until I find out for sure. The quality is pretty good, if a bit thick. This is the amusingly titled “Pajama Party” from the “Dear My Party Nails” collection. Not quite as hilarious as Japanese TiNS brand names, but pretty funny nonetheless.

Here is Pajama Party on its own, three coats:

PicMonkey Collage

Oh, and you’ll have to bear with me. I’m having tons of fun with PicMonkey collages today, so that’s why there are so many in this post. Here’s one featuring Polish Frankenmath!

PicMonkey Collage A

This is super easy to do- just put some of your milky glitter in a silicone baking cup, and use a sheer polish to tint it to different shades! The tinting polish must be sheer to let the glitter show through, otherwise you’ll just get a clumpy mess.  I used China Glaze Sun Worshipper, LA Girl Glowing, China Glaze Ride The Waves and PA A81. Add the tinting color drop by drop, then mix to check the color. It’s like tinting cake frosting- it’s easy to add to much, so go slowly! There’s a lot of trial and error but it should be fine if you add the color carefully a bit at a time.

Here’s the color chart:

IMG_4048

I do like these types of glitters, but they can be a pain to apply. I find it best to sort of ‘pat on’ the color horizontally with the brush, rather than making upright brush strokes as with a normal polish. It’s easy to get bald spots and uneven glitter, so experiment to find a method that gives you the coverage you like. Thin coats are key with this type of polish- be prepared for several! But for nails that look like Lisa Frank-ensque birthday party joy, it’s a small price to pay, right? 

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Mixed Colors (Frankens) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How To Tint Glitterbomb Polish To Get More Shades!

  1. This was very interesting. I’ve been thinking about trying this for a long time. I wish we could find more brands on the animal organizations’ cruelty- free lists. It’s so frustrating that we need to use so much time to try to find out who are testing and who are not.

Leave a Reply

