New Year Nail Art

Boo! It’s been a dark day of torrential rain here, which has made good photos of some New Year’s nail art impossible. I had to use the flash and go all Instagram on everyone. Not exactly ideal but I hope it can provide some inspiration.

The first nails are just a blue base with some velvet flocking powder with “2013” on it, very basic. Flocking is a textured, velvety look, but it’s not long lasting at all.   I used a thin white glue, like Elmer’s, and then dusted on the flocking powder. If you apply topcoat, it will ruin the look, so I’d save this for a party or event. Fun and fuzzy but not really my cup of tea.

happy new year 2013 1

Since 2013 is a Snake Year by the Chinese/Japanese zodiac, I’m wearing my humongous snake ring. (Hey, any excuse will do!)

new year 2013 2

Next up is a really easy design: dab a few colors of acrylic paint or nail polish on a palette, swirl gently and then use an old sponge to make a multi-colored base. I then painted some black party details: a couple wine glasses, a bottle of champagne with a popping cork, and “2013.” I put a giant rhinestone on the pinkie, but that’s because I personally feel a New Year’s mani is incomplete without some bling!

new year 2013 3

And here we have an artsy photo with this year’s New Year beverage of choice in the NTMG household:  BottleGreen Elderflower Cordial. It’s unfortunately not alcoholic but still pretty tasty. The last time I really went out and kicked up my heels in a bar, it involved the staff at a 5-star Tokyo hotel bar having to take off a bathroom stall door off its hinges. It’s not really a wild night until power tools are involved!

(Disclaimer: I was really ill from food poisoning from the cheese assortment at the snooty bar, not from being a wild woman and pounding shots. About 4 people collapsed about an hour after I did. Moral of the story: Don’t be greedy at the cheese platter.)

I hope everyone has a happy and safe New Year! 2012 was a big year for me, leaving my beloved Japan behind, an international move, and last but not least, making it official with the Mr.! It’s been quite a mixed year, though, and I hope 2013 will be a bit calmer. It’s a snake year, though, so anything goes!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to New Year Nail Art

  1. Akaleistar says:

    Fabulous nails! Happy New Year!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks- they are kind of growing on me but still not sure about them yet. Off to more experimenting!

  2. Ana says:

    I love your humongous snake ring!!! Where did it come from??

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I got it from an accessory shop in Bugis Market, Singapore. It’s totally over the top and ridiculous but it’s the perfect finishing touch every now and again. ;)

Leave a Reply

