Some Indian-Inspired Greens for Deepavali

Well, I’m back in my apartment after a lovely couple weeks in Hawaii. It’s November and it’s hot and sticky, which feels more than a little odd, but I’m trying to get into the holiday mood.  I’m headed to Japan next week for the Tokyo International Nail Expo, so at least I’ll get a bit of chilly weather then. Not freezing, just pleasantly cool.

But back to where I am now! In Singapore, next Tuesday is Deepavali, the Indian festival of lights. I headed down to Little India to catch some of the sights and sounds of the season. It’s bustling, as always, with lots of decorations, sweets, henna stands, and all kinds of other wonderful things that I can’t actually identify. The folks of India love glitter, sparkles and color almost as much as I do! Their textiles and art always amaze me.

I got some henna- it’s amazing how fast these ladies can do a design:

As I looked around the market, I kept seeing what I think of as “peacock colors” of purple, teal, green and blue.  There were decorations, clothing, candles, and all kinds of things for sale.

So that got me thinking of those colors, and I decided to go through my pigment stash and make up a few frankens! Today I have some greenish shades to show you. I used pigment from MAC and Fyrinnae and clear polish for these frankens. (And apologies- it’s really humid today, the swatches dried with a weird cloudy haze, and they had some shrinking when the Seche Vite was applied).

First off, the swatches on skin in natural light:

And here they are as frankenpolish:

The MAC Green Brown was a strong duochrome, but red-based brown is just icky on my skintone, and probably almost anyone else’s! I think this shade is better used on the eyes.

All the shades mixed well, though they dried semi-matte and need a good topcoat to make them look their best. You will need to work fairly fast, since frankenpolishes seem to suffer brushstrokes worse than commercial polishes due to the quicker dry time.

For those of you who may be just joining us, here’s a tutorial with all the details of how to mix pigment and polish:

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Greens, Mixed Colors (Frankens) and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Some Indian-Inspired Greens for Deepavali

  1. LifeOfBun says:

    That’s such a great idea, using them in nailpolish!!

  2. Bela says:

    Hi!
    I wonder if you can recommend a website where they sell OPI, Zoya and/or orly to smaller prices?

    The prices in Sweden are ridiculously high..
    Thanks!
    /Bella

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Bela!
      It’s the same here in Asia, most OPI is USD $20, China Glaze is $15, etc. Those high prices are why I originally started mixing my own nail polish! Unfortunately, most of the online shops will not ship overseas because it is illegal to ship nail polish by air. Do any of my European readers have any good shops they can share?

      • Bela says:

        I usually buy china glaze from head2toebeauty.com. I can’t remember if you were the one who recommended me that site or not (?)
        Even though I love CG, I would like to buy some other brands.
        Well, thank you! :)

Leave a Reply

