Guess The Nail Inspiration and Win!

I originally posted this contest on my Facebook page but so far, everyone is a bit stumped so I decided to open it up here!

If you know the inspiration behind this nail art, let us know in the comments and win a $25 gift certificate to my Etsy shop OR if you’re not a press-on nails kind of person, I will make a charitable donation of $25 to the World Wildlife Fund, Humane Society International, Bat Conservation International or The Red Cross on your behalf.

OK, enough of that! Here’s the photo:

Hint: 1966!

Hint #2: It’s not music/art/movie related. Think more along the lines of child’s play….

The first person to leave the correct answer in the comments wins.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Guess The Nail Inspiration and Win!

  1. Navy Wife Chronicles says:

    A Child’s Garden of Verses? The lion looks like the cover of the book :) If I’m wrong, the nails are still pretty awesome!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Oh, that’s a good guess but not it! I’m glad you liked the nails too. Further hint: It’s not related to a book or movie.

  2. beachgal says:

    I lived as a young adult in 1966 and this is not ringing any bells. I can think of plenty of things eventful that happened in 1966. It’ not Peter Max inspired, it’s nothing to do with the Dylan ‘goes electric 1966 World Tour. It’s not the Electric Kool Aid Acid Test – that was 68. It looks like it might have African influences on some of the nails. It’s not Warhol – It’s not the last Beatles tour. I can think of a zillion things reminiscent to 1966. I will keep looking at it.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Oh, I’m jealous! I wish I’d lived through that era! Instead I got the crummy old 80s, neon spandex, and awful pop music. All very good guesses but no cigar! Think of a more child-like passtime.

  3. Trista says:

    1966 marked the first Kwanzaa, right? Is that it?

  4. Rachel says:

    It seems to me they are Picasso inspired. Right?

  5. Meli says:

    Brian Wildsmith is all that comes to mind. However, that’s because he illustrated a book I owned as a child.

  6. Seajay Ballard says:

    Wizard of Oz, first showing

  7. Seajay Ballard says:

    The Lion, Which and the Wardrobe, by C S Lewis?

  8. Trista says:

    Memory card game–and I take it the other hand has the matches?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Oh no! Did you get this before I posted the answer? Your comment and the answer look like they’re within 5 min of each other! If you did get the answer on your own, then you’re entitled to the prize! Let me know. :)

      • Trista says:

        I’m on my mobile…you posted the answer? I’ll go online on the home computer and check it out. The mobile site doesn’t show it. Posted last night while at my kid’s swim lessons, only had two bars and had to keep reloading to try to get the comment to go through. Ah, well, if I missed out then that’s the way it goes!

      • nevertoomuchglitter says:

        Yeah, looks like we crossed each other by a few minutes- but no worries, you got the right answer and are entitled to the prize! Take a look at my shop at http://www.nevertoomuchglitter.etsy.com and see if there’s any goodies you’d like, or I can make a charitable donation on your behalf.

  9. Tribe of Mannequins Creator says:

    Cute
    Kirstiie

  10. That sun looked so familiar but i couldnt place it. Now that Trista said memory game it all came back to me

Leave a Reply

