And The Nail Art Inspiration Was…

1966 Milton Bradley “Memory” Game. The game had (I think) 36 pairs of picture cards and was played by putting all the cards face down and trying to pick a matching pair one turn at a time.

Being from 1966, it was *ahem* WELL before my time, but we picked this up at a yard sale and something about the wacky retro graphics stuck with me all these years. It’s hard to find good images of the cards themselves, but do an image search and you should be able to come up with a few. I bought the game on Ebay a few years back, but it’s still in my parent’s attic. Once I get a chance, I think I’ll do a whole set of nails based on the cards or at least take a decent picture to show all the graphics.

I’ve also seen a few for sale on Etsy, if anyone is interested to see what it looks like.

Sorry that the contest was a bit obscure- I’m planning to do more in the future, but I’ll make them a bit easier to figure out next time! Then again, anyone who has spent any time on my blog is aware that my art and inspirations for it can definitely veer off towards the strange side! :P

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to And The Nail Art Inspiration Was…

  1. beachgal says:

    Oh…I am way too old to remember Memory. I was beyond all but about Scrabble and Backgammon by ’66. I was very into everything ‘beat’ and music by then. I had found all the yrs of forced piano lessons had paid off big time – I taught myself not just guitar in one day in ’64 but had site reading of notes to pick out songs down in less than a week. While my friends were learning cords and strums for yrs – I was thinking I was George Harrison and was getting ready for my Sitar to come for Christmas of ’66! Sorry…even if ya told me something about Memory today I would not know the card pixs – just that I played it with my nephews and it was a turn ‘em over trying to match ‘em game.

  2. beachgal says:

    You really had me wracking my brain when you said ’66. I thought I was so ‘aware’ of .life by then having of course grown up over night as most teens think they do. While you are a ’66 baby and too young to have known Memory game…know I played it with friends kids in the 70′s…so it should have been a very ‘in’ game when you were say 13…but just think when you were 13 -15 it was what??? all about having an Atari I think it was right? Or, if you were like me, it was all about books, news of the day and music.But then my teens we had nothing yet in ‘digital’ entertainment. It was all analog then and things were getting back to nature. I still don’t ‘get’ how come we thought it was OK to be called some man’s ‘old lady’ if you were his girlfriend. That makes me bristle now. But then that name came long before the women’s lib movement even was much of a concept. It was all civil rights, growing anti-war. None talked about women’s right along with cifil rights. Next to nails, music is one of the things I can say has really stuck to my ‘ribs’ through all the yrs. Folks complain today about frost formulas…I think ‘they have not a clue what frost used to be…it was all frost, eyes, lips and nails. LOVE your comment about the card designs being so retro! Guess that means I am retro! But being born in ’66 you would remember all the icky formulas – even back to the mid 80′s – if it was not a cream, most were pretty icky formulas – the peals looks like frosts and vice versa. I can recall the early days of OPI when they put an S, P or F to denote Shimmer, Pearl, Frost as early on still P and F looked alike and a S easy could be mistaken for cream in the bottle esp.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      We can both be retro together! I’m so jealous of the folks who got to live in the psychedelic era- I can’t imagine what it would have been like to hear a Beatles album when it was brand new!

      I was born in the last days of disco (late 70s!), but no cable TV was available without a very costly satellite dish where I grew up, so we had a lot of books and board games. By the time I was playing this 1966 Memory game, it was definitely pretty old but hey, there were no mechanical parts to wear out, right? I think I was born in the wrong era, I was reading Nancy Drew books from the 50s while a child in the 80s and listening to the oldies radio station, so my knowledge of 60s-70s music is still much better than 90s onward (which might not be a bad thing!) I even had a record player before they were cool again. :)

      LOL about frosty makeup! I do clearly recall ultra-frosty Flameglow makeup in the 5 and 10 store. The foundation would always turn orange no matter what shade it started out as. And you could practically see your reflection in some of those frosted lipsticks! My mom and grandma gave me some old lipsticks for my “lady basket” where I kept all my kiddo play makeup and costume jewelry, so I’m absolutely positive there was some 60s makeup in there! All the lipsticks smelled kind of like melted plastic for some reason. But oh, those mod colors and fantastic fancy pressed powder compacts!

Leave a Reply

