Franken with Iridescent Pigments and China Glaze Ride The Waves

I hope everyone isn’t getting tired of seeing my iridescent pigments yet! Today I’ve given the iridescent glitter treatment to China Glaze Ride The Waves, a medium blue jelly. This color does not photograph well- it is slightly darker in real life than it appears in my photos. It is a lovely summer color, but a bit sheer. It took me three coats for full opacity, but I might have been able to get by with two if they’d been a little thicker. Since I live in a sticky climate, I go for the thinnest coats possible. 

Here it is, in close up. These blue shimmers just scream out “summer” to me. I want to do some mermaid designs on them!

 

 

As usual, one small pea-sized scoop of pigment in a quarter-sized dollop of polish, mixed up in my silicone baking cup. Shown here is two coats of mixed polish, topped off with a coat of Seche Vite.

 

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Franken with Iridescent Pigments and China Glaze Ride The Waves

  1. lacqueredpaintedpolished says:

    I love these! They make me want to break out my frankening supplies again. I’m building a TKB order as we speak…

  2. I want to try frankening so bad! I just need to get an order together darn it. I am so intimidated by it for some reason. I really like the colors you have been using and coming up with.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Start off with cheaper polish (maybe Wet N Wild?) that you buy just to experiment with, and then you won’t feel so bad if you make a horrible color! Also, get a tiny glass/metal/silicone palette/cup that you can use to mix a small amount of polish first, then keep checking the color. If you don’t like it, you can just go back and start again! If you commit the whole bottle and make an unappealing color, it’s kind of a bummer, which is why I always mix small batches first. I do plenty of franken-fails myself!

  3. sugarcube717 says:

    I’ve read your entire blog from start to finish over the last 2days. Loved all your designs. I’m gonna have to order a few pairs of really awesome jeweled and glitterfied nails from you for my sister’s wedding next year. She loves hot pink so we might be looking at hot pink dresses soon. Keep those great nails coming!!!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Wow, thanks for reading all that! :) Stop by anytime and let me know what kind of fabulous nails you have in mind. Hot pink wedding dress= one sassy lady!

Leave a Reply

