Is This The World’s Ugliest Nail Polish?

Nail class rolls on, and my poor nails have been buffed, filed and tortured as we all practice on each other. Sort of like nurses, who I’ve heard have to practice injections on each other. (I would die- hats off to all you medical professionals out there!)

Since my nails are in a pretty sorry state, I have decided to show you all what I have deemed the World’s Ugliest Nail Polish.  It’s the ugliest commercial color from a major brand I can remember seeing in my nail polish career to date.  It’s an oldie, but not a goodie. It’s Maybelliene Emerald Water, which is not green, despite the name.  It turns my nails exactly the color they naturally turn when I am really cold- a hideous blue/purple tinged wash of color that looks really diseased. The first three coats didn’t look like anything, here it is with 4 coats.

I can’t even remember how this polish wound up in my stash- I think I must have gotten in a swap, since Maybelliene is not cruelty free and I wouldn’t have purchased it. I don’t even know what I’d call this finish- syrup? I do like transparent polishes when they’re more pigmented, but this is just too transparent to work with. Who thought this was a good idea?

It appears that Chanel also got into the weird syrup-polish action a while back and even they weren’t able to do a good job on it. I’m sure they cost a bomb, but even an expensive designer brand can’t make this look or formula work.

I thought about experimenting with it for gradient looks on myself, but it’s too sheer even for that. You’d probably have to build up 7-8 layers to get enough color, and even my trusty Seche Vite can’t dry that much polish down.

What’s the ugliest nail polish you’ve ever seen? I’m not taking about those  recently popular hideous retro-kind of browns, but a shade that looks awful on everyone? Anyone have a shade that can compete with this one on the ugly front?

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Store-bought Colors and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Is This The World’s Ugliest Nail Polish?

  1. Cheryl says:

    Agreed! It looks like a corpse’s nails!

    But another really bad colour would probably be a sheer yellow- “Yes, I want my nails to look stained!”

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yeah, that would be bad too! I don’t think I’ve ever seen a true sheer yellow on the market- for good reason!

  2. Jessica says:

    Eeeeegh. What a mess.. Have you tried it over other colors to see if it gets any better?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      It’s a little better but still so sheer there is no real point. I don’t have the patience for 5 layers!

  3. heather burdett says:

    Dont throw it out! It makes a great blender! Take like 4patels or bolds and do random rainonbow patching spots. Once dry, use a coat of this over it- just 1coat. Easy smoother and blender. Then add some stars or dots on top. Try it out and i think you will find a great use for sheers.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks for the tips! I do have some sheer but slightly more pigmented polishes by other brands that I use for blending and art but this one just looks like clear polish until the 2nd or 3rd coat. I’ll play around with it though. :)

  4. maybe you can use as a top coat over a polish of a similar color, maybe purple?

  5. beachgal12 says:

    This is really ugly. I think I had a shade similar to it in the mid 2000′s – long ago purged however. And yes, working on each other in medical school was no fun. I am a clinical laboratory scientist. In my state, we did the first 2 yrs of same course work as those going to med school to become and MD took (that was of course after 4 yrs of regular univ. work). Then next I had to do one yr’s internship before I could sit for the first level of board testing. I had too many NG (naso/gastic) tubes shoved down my nose and other tubes down my throat then I can possibly recall. And those are just to mention 1 or 2 that won’t totally gross everyone out!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      AARGH! Tubes up your NOSE?! By people who aren’t really good at it yet? I’m going to brave the cuticle torture with a bit more finesse then with that in mind. Gaaah.

  6. Trista says:

    That polish is perfect for one thing–the Zoya trade-in thing they do. Wow. When I saw the headline, I thought for sure the polish wouldn’t be THAT bad, or would be one that somebody, somewhere, would adore. Yet this polish is completely unfathomable. I can’t even imagine glitter fixing it. So weird! But yeah, a sheer brownish-yellow would be worse, if such a polish existed. Oh, here’s an idea–you could create a whole line of bizarre sheers, and sell them to special effects artists. Zombie nails! Who knows, maybe it would catch on, be the next trend?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yeah, there are “ugly awesome” colors out there, like weird butterscoth-y brown grays that are awful looking in the bottle and promo pics but somehow endearing on. This was just plain awful. I’m going to dump a load of glitter in it to see how it looks before it eventually goes to the great Polish Drawer In The Sky, but this one may be beyond fixing.

      Nfu Oh does have a whole line of sheers called Jelly Syrup, but they are a lot more pigmented than this one. But there’s not a whole lot to be done with sheer khaki, no matter how pretty the color is or how great the formula.

  7. LACQUERLUST says:

    Omg yea I believe it is the winner!! It looks like u have a nail condition lol u dont tho smh thanks for the info!!

  8. nirfreak03 says:

    yeah, i’d have to agree that it is pretty ugly, but i have a thing for “ugly” polishes ;)

  9. Kaz from http://www.pretty-random.com once gave me a great tip on these type of colors – layer over a silver foil. Silver foils are generally one coaters and adding a water color on top makes for a two coats mani. Looks kinda interesting.

  10. ritterbraten says:

    Hahhahah! 4 coats!! What the hell was the producer thinking about?! :)

  11. kayluh says:

    I knew I had seen another polish like this. It just took me awhile to find it again. My cousin has an old bottle of a Maybelline colour called Grass Stain. It looks lovely in bottle, but three coats for a very very sheer green… ew. Pink or red wouldn’t be so bad. Who knows, maybe they were predicting what the future zombies would wear!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Ugh! “Grass Stain” just says it all! I do have to give props for companies who pioneered daring colors like mustard yellow and avocado green, but some of their earlier experiments were just plain horrid! Maybe they were feeling a bit doomsday in the pre-millenium days. :P

Leave a Reply

