Orange Fire

I went back to the drawing board, trying to create a juicy summer orange, and had another fail. I do like this color better, but it screams “autumn” to me, which is what I was trying to avoid. Oh well, since there’s no seasons here, I’ll give myself a pass. It will be strange to wear the same clothes all year round and I’ll miss the changes of the seasons. That being said, if I have to live one season all year, summer is definitely my first choice!

I mixed up a franken from MAC Orange pigment (not terribly creative on the naming there, guys!) and China Glaze Luxe and Lush.

Image

Matte pigments tend to be chalky, and they do not always play well with others. This was no exception. I recommend pigments with a little pearl or shimmer in them, since they mix more readily. Also, when the pigment got moistened, it looked exactly like blood. Eerily so…it brought back flashes of the Mangosteen Incident!

Image

I like the color, just not for summer. The tone is too deep and it reminds me of long fall days and crispy nights. I will be headed to Tokyo for the 2012 International Nail Expo sometime in November, so I can get my fill of fall then. I’m also going to shop till I drop and maybe hit the hot springs up north. I do miss Japan a lot, though Singapore is lovely, it’s just…different.

I think I’m going to get off my orange kick and try some other colors. I don’t have my full stash of goodies here- it’s scattered between Japan, here, and the US. When I left Japan at the end of March, I literally had no idea where in the world I was relocating, so I sent most of my stash to the US to be safe. ┬áSo, that means I need to go on a local buying spree, right?

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Mixed Colors (Frankens), Nail polish, Oranges and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Orange Fire

  1. Very pretty but definitely for fall. Maybe less red would make it summery…? Can’t wait to read more of your posts :)

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Oh, thank you! I hope you’ll like my upcoming posts- I’ve got some fresh summer colors and a few fun art designs too. I think I need a more coral color but I’m going to drive myself crazy getting just the perfect shade!

Leave a Reply

