Orange Meh

I’m now healed up from my mangosteen injury so that polish remover in the cut won’t send me into a fit of howling pain. I don’t think it’ll leave a scar, but the mangosteen definitely won that round.

I’ve been on the lookout for a good summer orange- not a neon, but a bright, fresh iced-OJ-on-a-hot-day kind or orange. Something inviting and icy and juicy. (Guess who’s thirsty?)

Unfortunately, when I mixed Nubar Opulent Pearl and MAC Acid Orange pigment, I got a frosty orange fail. The Nubar has some flakies in it, which did not play well with the pigment.

Here’s what I got:

It’s not an awful color, just kind of washed out and not the icy orange I’d hoped for. It was also on the thick side since the flakies in the Nubar didn’t lay flat after they got mixed with the pigment.

So, I did what I always do with colors I don’t like: added stuff onto it!

I painted some orange and orange glitter stripes on the tips and added a 3-D orange and some painted leaves. The Color Club Art Club striping polishes are pretty nice, if you can find them. I got mine online. They have a thin brush for detail work that is one of the easier ones to use. Also vegan and cruelty-free!

I’ll be getting a lightbox soon for better photos. I do miss my good old kitchen light from my Tokyo apartment that worked really well for photos, unlike these kind of blurry shots here.

The quest for the perfect juicy summer orange continues!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Mixed Colors (Frankens), Oranges and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Orange Meh

  1. Lucy says:

    That’s a cute summer looking manicure. I always love those Fimo slices of fruit. Glad your healed from your fruit accident! I’m sure you have lots of work to do in your new place. I imagine you have to get new lighting since everything is different. New adventure!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks, Lucy! I’m glad to be able to do stuff again- I would forget about the cut and accidentally get polish remover or lemonade in it and WOW! So it’s nice to be all better. It’s much brighter here, but that’s not always the best thing for nail pictures since it casts too much of a shadow. I’ll have to experiment with some new lighting for sure.

Leave a Reply

