Mangosteen’s Revenge

Mangosteens (not to be confused with mangoes) are a wonderfully tasty tropical fruit that also happen to be pretty darn cheap in Southeast Asia, so I got a big bag of them at the grocery store. Unfortunately, as I was slicing one open, the mangosteen pulled some kung-fu kind of maneuver and got out of the way of my knife and I cut myself instead.

Here’s the mangosteen in question:

Image

I probably should have known better than to mess with a piece of fruit that looked like that. Alas, I have given myself a nice cut right skipping across my middle finger and all the way across the ring finger, right across the entire joint the joint so I can’t actually bend it.  I never appreciated my right ring fingertip. Now I do.  At least it’s not my painting hand!

Since I’m out of painting commission for a couple of days, I’ve been trying to get my hobby room together. Besides nails, I also like to paint and do beady-type wire stuff, so I’m going to try to store everything together. I’m going to get some wire shelves over the desk and hang baskets from them, I think. That should allow me to store a lot of little things and keep them organized. We’ll see how it develops from there!

Image

Not exactly luxurious but it will be a fun place to hang out and do crafty type stuff. Luckily, I am comfortable in small places after my time in Japan.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Non-Nail Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mangosteen’s Revenge

  1. That’s going to be a great space, I love that the desk fits so well :) And btw I’ve never seen a mangosteen before, or if I did, I didn’t know what it was! LOL!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      They are delicious but beware! I only knew what they were because I worked in a health food store while I was in high school, so they had lots of exotic fruit. Just bear in mind that they fight back! :P The room is coming together but I’ll have to get some wall shelves for it because it’s too narrow for any more furniture, I think.

  2. Thresa says:

    I liked and ate a lot of mangosteen when I was still in Indonesia. The way you opened it by taking the stick (top part) off. Then hold the mangosteen with your two hands, press it hard together with your thumbs and it should break open.I never used a knife to open it. It’s very yummy and still I missed it. Couldn’t get good ones here and if I can it usually frozen or very expensive.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Oh, that’s a great idea! I was cutting it to put it in my juicing machine, but maybe from now on it’s a good way to just open it and eat the fruit! I am really enjoying all the wonderful new fruits and food here. I will miss them when I return to the US for sure!

  3. Lucy says:

    Hi sweetie! I haven’t been on any blogs for quite awhile. I’m sick of them all. I’ve bought way to much polish just from reading blogs. I think I have enough for some time. Well enough for two life times. Although I can’t pass up something sparkly or just pretty. I’m just going to take it easy on buying polish. I guess you just get to a point when your tired of blogs, polish & makeup. I must be going insane! I love the new layout. I can see your nails much better now. Glad you’ve gotten a better place. Love the new space for your art work. The older I get the less space I want. Too much to clean & to tempting to want to fill it with more stuff. Hope your finger heals fast. Sounds like a nasty cut. I’ve never seen a mangosteen. I’ve heard of it but never tasted one. If I ever come across one I will try it. Hope all goes well for you. Things will feel much better when all your furniture is around you. Best of luck.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Lucy! I don’t blame you for getting tired of blogs, even chocolate cake gets tiresome if we eat it every day! I’m glad you like the new layout too- it was time for a little change. I’m not very good at computer stuff in general but this was pretty easy to do, thank goodness.

      I know what you mean about wanting less stuff. I have had to throw away so much every time I move, it really bummed me out. Some things I paid more to send home than the items were actually worth. I spent MONTHS trying to figure out what to do with my stuff, sorting stuff, packing and sending…possessions can get surprisingly emotional. I just focus on a few things I enjoy and then go from there. Otherwise I’d have collections up the wazoo. I imagine I have a bit of a hoarding tendency, especially for things that make me feel pretty. So I’m on a makeup no-buy until the end of June. It’s been 1 month already but I don’t know if I can keep away!

      Do try a mangosteen if you can- they have a taste like nothing else, really, and they just taste like a little piece of paradise, though they are very sweet.

Leave a Reply

