Still Hanging On

I’m back in Singapore after spending some time back in the US with my family, and unfortunately I’m still not settled in yet- still living out of my suitcases in a hotel. No visa= no apartment, no nail school, no nothing. I’m feeling pretty trapped, though I know this too shall pass.

The really unfortunate thing is, my hotel is loaded with prostitutes. Yes. Prostitution is legal in Singapore, though chewing gum is not.* There are several large karaoke/nightclub/massage parlours near my hotel, and I did not take this into account. When the clubs close at 3AM, the ladies go to work at this hotel. Loudly and enthusiastically. Either they love their jobs more than anyone I ever met, or they’re really hamming it up for a tip.

Needless to say, this has not been good for my beauty rest, and I feel super cranky. Even genuine Red Bull imported from Thailand is not taking the edge off. Grr.

But enough about my 3AM woes. I haven’t been doing much actual nail work, since the room is teeny tiny and the subarctic air conditioning makes the nails dry hazy. Instead, I’ve been soaking up some local culture (I love Little India and want to buy every piece of shiny joy there!) and I’ve been working on some sketches for when I do get my own space, whether that is in Singapore or elsewhere.

I’ve learned something from this experience: Do not move to a new country without your visa in hand. If things don’t go properly, you will be stuck in limbo. I’m a pretty experienced traveler and this ain’t my first Asian rodeo, but  I’m beginning to be worn down by living in a boxy room, surrounded by noisy ladies of the night.

*Disclaimer for Singaporeans: I am not meaning to show your country in a bad light, nor imply prostitutes are everywhere. I just happen to be unwittingly stuck in the Hooker Epicenter.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Non-Nail Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Still Hanging On

  1. Cheryl says:

    Awww, that blows. I know how noisy these areas can get at night. Have you thought about staying at a backpacker’s hostel? There are a couple in Singapore, and in normal non-red-light-district areas.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yeah, it probably wouldn’t be a bad idea to try a hostel, except we have a TON of luggage. We flew directly from Japan, intending to find an apartment right away. Mr. NTMG’s company told him his visa would be ready to start work on March 3, so we figured we’d be in an apartment within a week or so. We’re going on 2 months later….

Leave a Reply

