Waiting Game

Well, I’m still playing the waiting game. Mr. NTMG is in Singapore waiting for visa papers, and I’ve stayed in the US for an extra week since sitting around was driving us both crazy. I think part of it might have been glitter withdrawal, since I was afraid to paint in the small hotel room we were staying in. I did make a couple pairs but didn’t have room to spread out all the sparkles properly. Say it ain’t so!

I’ve spent almost a month here in the US and it does feel pretty strange. I miss Japan, the orderliness, tasty vegetarian sushi (kappa maki just isn’t the same here) and of course, Japanese nail art. Luckily I stocked up on back issues of Nail Venus and Nail Max before I left Japan. Those should provide some inspiration for a while to come. I’m pretty sure Mr. NTMG checks ‘em out too, though he won’t admit it.

So I’m kind of in a state of limbo, headed back into Singapore next week, but not quite as established as I’d hoped to be at this point. I figured I’d have my studio and website 100% set up and I’d be eating my way into delicious oblivion in true Singapore style when I wasn’t rocking the nails, but I’m a bit more rootless in actuality.  I may literally be doing nails out of a suitcase, but I’ll still be doing them! Have glitter, will travel. My Etsy store is back online as of today as well.

One thing I always enjoy when I’m back stateside is hitting up the dollar store- you can sometimes find awesome nail polishes for only a buck! This time, I haven’t had so much luck, but I did score an intriguing eyeshadow palette that looked like it might yield some cool nail polish frankens. If you’re just joining the blog and want to learn more about how to make nail polish from eyeshadows or pigments, check out my tutorial here.

It had nice silver shimmer in it, but unfortunately that was only a little dusting on the top and didn’t go all the way through. Boo. But for a dollar, I can’t complain. I chose the robin’s egg blue in the middle to try and make a nice springy shade.

Unfortunately, this eyeshadow had mineral oil in it as many cheaper shadows do, so it made a really clumpy mess when I mixed in in with clear polish. It was workable but not something I’d want to go through again. A lot of eyeshadows have paraffin or mineral oil in them to make them feel more silky. I have the best luck with MAC Mineralize eyeshadows, but they’re too pricey to buy on a regular basis (at least for me!)

I got this mani, which was in bad need of some decoration and two coats of Seche Vite to hide the unevenness of the polish.

I like the color but there’s easier ways to get it for sure! But for a dollar, it was worth a try to make some cool nail polishes. I do get tricked every time by those compacts and eyeshadows that are dusted on the top with beautiful glitter or shimmer. It never goes all the way through!

I’ve also been doing some water marbling too- check these out!

I used the colors from the latest Color Club spring collection, topped off with a coat of China Glaze Luxe and Lush from the Hunger Games collection. I still get little nicks from the water droplets remaining on the surface of the nail, so the Luxe and Lush evens it out nicely. I wish I remembered the names of the Color Club polishes, but I’m actually in my father’s old truck, using public WiFi in a highway rest stop. I probably look like some kind of dangerous pervert, hunched over a laptop in a truck in a rest stop parking lot. Yup. Dangerous nail pervert.

On that disturbing image, I’m signing off for now. Oh- I do have some cool news- check some of my work out out in Issue 35 of Gothic Beauty magazine. It’s a little feature about gothic nails, but it’s always fun to see my work in print.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Blues, Konad, Non-Nail Stuff, NTMG Original Nail Art and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Waiting Game

  1. Kathleen says:

    I love the Marble look! I have been playing with it recently myself ^_^

  2. wazzra says:

    Love the water marble… have you ever made a tutorial for it?

  3. Lucy says:

    I hope your back in Singapore by now. It must be so unsettling to not have a permanent place. I haven’t found any polish from the Dollar store in a really long while. All they ever have is the same Jesse’s Girl polish. The manicures are gorgeous as always. Must be awful being away from MNTMG. Hope your together & settled now. (((hugs)))

Leave a Reply

