I’m A Little Pinball

Whew, I’m back in the US from Singapore to take care of some business and for a quick visit. 26 hours in transit- yeech! I bet I looked as bad as I do in my passport photo by the time I arrived. I hadn’t really planned on heading back into the US until after my nail course was done, but some stuff came up that would be easier to deal with in person.

It’s very weird…for the last decade since I’ve been living in Asia, I’ve always been the only white person in the room. Now there are nothing but white people around (yes, I’m in rural New England). It’s neither here nor there, but it’s an odd feeling.  I do miss the energy and manic rhythm of Asia when I’m not there. I’ll be heading back in 2 weeks, but till then I’ve monopolized the dining room table at my folk’s place and I am painting my butt off for my shop-reopening on April 1. Thanks, jet lag.

One bonus about being home is I can pick up a bunch of my nail goodies that I ordered online, since most suppliers don’t ship nail polish overseas. I’m excited to try out the new magnetic polishes since I have no experience with them. What I really want to do is make my own unique magnets. I’ll have to experiment- should be fun.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Non-Nail Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m A Little Pinball

  1. Lucy says:

    Must be very strange seeing different faces & accents. Can you bring nail polish back to Singapore? I’m not just here for the nail art. I enjoy hearing about your life & adventures. Sunday was the year anniversary of the earthquake. It doesn’t seem so long ago. My heart just felt like breaking for the people of the Japan. I was watching a Sunday news program & there was a report about the anniversary. It was heartbreaking watching the people who have lost children. Not much has been done there. The mountains of refuse is awful. Communities won’t accept the trash. It’s a hard thing to know what to do. Hope you have a fantastic time with your nail courses.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Aw, thanks Lucy. You’re a sweetie. I can indeed bring nail polish back to Singapore and I plan to do that because the imported stuff is as expensive as Japan! China Glaze is about $15 each, which would bankrupt me. I’m also going to bring all my rhinestones back too.

      I can’t believe it’s been a year since the earthquake- it seems to have been a very long year. I feel about 10 years older since then. Nobody trusts the government since they were untruthful about the meltdowns and the release of nuclear material, so no towns will accept any of the waste- some towns wouldn’t even allow bodies to be buried or cremeated within city limits. II feel very lucky to have come through it unscathed. I’m hoping that will be my last big natural disaster for sure.

Leave a Reply

