More Fun with Revlon Starry Night Eyeshadow + Polish

I was having so much fun with my Revlon Starry Pink eyeshadow that I made a couple more shades out of it. I mixed the eyeshadow in with the clear polish, but then added a few drops of colored nails polish. When you’re beginning, it’s best to go drop by drop until you have a shade you like- some dark shades may have different base colors in them than expected.

Here is is with mixed in with a few drops of Color Club Killer Curves, a burgundy creme:

Kind of a meh color, just my personal opinion, so I jazzed it up with some white dots and black confetti hearts. Now it’s kind of Valentine’s-y.

And here it is mixed in a half/half ratio with Milani Charmed, a black base with dark silver glitter. Milani is a drugstore brand in the US, and they are cruelty free. Yay! They can be pretty hit or miss, but some of their stuff is actually pretty unique. Check for sales, though: I remember they’re perpetually buy one get one free, etc.  Otherwise they’re a bit pricey for a drugstore polish.

Now this is more up my alley! The Charmed actually had some warm burgundy/purple in the base which came out when it was mixed with the lighter shimmer in the eyeshadow. I didn’t expect that since it looks like straight black all by itself. It was a nice surprise!

I decided to wear this all day since I liked it so much, so I added some tiny gold studs and a faceted plastic heart jewel. Artsy shot:

Not exactly a spring-y kind of color, but we’re still in the dead of winter anyway, despite all the lightweight clothing I’m seeing in the stores!

I was actually planning on chucking the eyeshadow that I used to make these frankens (wasteful, I know, but I have very limited capacity to send stuff out of Japan), but I think I’ll keep it for future frankens. I hate throwing stuff away, but there’s only so much I can send home. I’m giving away what I can, but unfortunately, the Japanese don’t really do Salvation Army or secondhand goods, so I have to pay to dispose of all my furniture and applicances.  Oddly enough, they even refer to houses as “used.”  I never thought of them in that way before.

Well, all that randomness aside, I hope you guys liked today’s looks. Give it a try and let us know how it turns out!

 

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Nail polish and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to More Fun with Revlon Starry Night Eyeshadow + Polish

  1. Cathryn says:

    Gorgeous! I was trying to make a burgundy color earlier this week, but somehow ended up with a metallic hot pink instead (bit too much color for my outfit that day, but fun!).

    One question: have you done a post about your general nail/hand care? Your cuticles always look absolutely perfect and I’d love to know your routine!

  2. Lucy says:

    You always come up with such amazing shades. The burgundy is really pretty. The shimmer came up nice in this polish. I like the confetti hearts. The second shade is a surprise. Love that polish! This eyeshadow is definitely a keeper for frankens. I can’t believe there isn’t anywhere to share the things you no longer want. I’m sure there are many people who could use things. Just what you need to do is put out more money! I feel so bad for you that you have to give away so many things. It must be heartbreaking for you.

  3. August says:

    The top one reminds me of the queen of hearts.

    Anyway, where I live, it’s normally freezing cold at this time of year. But so far we’ve had about a week of chilly days. Today it’s really nice out.

  4. explosiveknitting says:

    The first mani is so cute! I love those little hearts, they look like chocolate sprinkles! :)

    If you want to give away appliances and furniture, have you tried contacting a university in your area? When I studied in Kyoto in 2010, second-hand household things were extremely popular with the exchange students, as most of us were only staying for a short time and couldn’t afford to buy everything brand new. There were also several second-hand electronics shops near the main campus, so maybe that’s a good place to look…?

  5. sara says:

    What kind of brushes did you use to paint your nails? Since you mix it up yourself i assuming you dont use the brush that comes with the clear nail polish. I think you do amazing work by the way! mixed some of my loose powder with my clear polish and i loved the results!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I do use the brush that comes with the clear polish. I wipe it off between uses to try and keep it clean. I use one brush for dark colors and another bottle for lighter colors.

Leave a Reply

