Another Eyeshadow Turns Into Nail Polish

As I pack up my life of the last 5+ years, I keep finding weird things I’ve bought and never used. I have tried to be more conscious of this and really only buy what I need, but sometimes I get a case of “wow, look at this strange Japanese thing!” Cosmetics are especially dangerous.

Case in point: I keep buying eyeshadows. I hardy ever wear them. I’m practically blind and I have to wear Coke-bottle thick glasses. I’m pretty sure you can’t even see my eyes behind them! I do have contacts, but found that I couldn’t wear them all day and stare at a computer screen without my eyes feeling like the Sahara. So…eyeshadow is pretty much wasted on me, yet it draws me in with its glittery goodness.

So, I found another dusty eyeshadow in my drawer- Revlon Diamond Lust  in Starry Pink. I did wear it once, and it looked like I got beat up by a fairy. Pink eyeshadow generally doesn’t work on me, but this one is exactly the color my eyes turn when I have a cold (minus the glitter, of course.)

Luckily….you know what happens next! It made a really nice polish.

I used an eyeshadow brush to loosen the shadow into a silicone baking cup, added some clear polish, and mixed it up. Sweet and simple.

I’m not really a baby pink kind of girl (yes, I know I did buy this polish and I make some pretty frou-frou nails!) but I liked this one. It looks nice and clean. But since I can never leave well enough alone, I added some quick white French tips and a little rose  on the ring finger.

Please forgive the crooked tips, I haven’t had my caffeine fix just yet.

All right, back to cleaning, packing, sorting and all that not-so-fun stuff.

ETA: For more details, check out my Pigment Tutorial 1 and Pigment Tutorial 2.

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Pastel, Pinks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Another Eyeshadow Turns Into Nail Polish

  1. beachgal12 says:

    Love the tip of using a silicon baking cup. Thanks so much. Never thought of that. I have used paper plates in the past.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Definitely try the silicone baking cup- the smaller, the better. You don’t even have to clean it out- once the polish is dry, just pop it out in one sheet. Very satisfying in a weird way.

  2. aunt lizzie says:

    these are my favorite

  3. very pretty…must get a silicone cup :)

  4. says:

    Looks so great!!
    I love it!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Yay! I’m glad that an old unused dusty eyeshadow is getting enjoyed so much. Now I’ll just have to try not to buy shades I’ll never wear! ;)

  5. August says:

    They look so pretty! It seems very vintage to me.

  6. Jenn says:

    I am so glad I stumbled onto your blog. I have a ton of eyeshadow that I never wear. Can’t wait to try this!

  7. Pingback: Eye Shadow Nail Polish DIY! | thetwentysomethingblog

  8. Lucy says:

    I know what you mean about eye shadows. They’re so hard to resist. I do wear eye makeup. I’d feel naked without it. I wouldn’t wear that shade of pink all over my eyelid. I’d look like a bunny! That shadow makes a gorgeous polish. Looks like a foil. Really lovely. I do love the manicure. It’s a very romantic look.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Thanks Lucy! I don’t know why I can’t resist makeup in shades I’ll never wear, but at least this one enjoyed some new life as a polish. Come to think of it, I don’t know if this shadow would look good on anyone- it would probably clash with Asian skin tones too. I’ve been trying to really be more careful with what I buy, but every now and then I get overcome by sparkles. Glad I’m not the only one!

      • Kiyora says:

        I own this shadow and I wear it ALOT. I dab it on my upper inner lid area or sometimes on the lid period. Keep in mind, I’m anti-glitter, ESPECIALLY chunky glitter. I apply this ONLY with my finger as it picks up the color in the BEST way possible. I’m a copper shade and I could have sworn up and down anyone darker or lighter could pull this lovely shadow off! It adds such a beautiful soft glow over other shadow looks.I use it more that the purple and blue counter parts that are included in this edition. I’m extremely ecstatic to find out I can get even more of a use out of this shadow!

      • nevertoomuchglitter says:

        Thanks for the tips! I was using it more as an all-over thing and it was a bit overwhelming.
        Anti-glitter!?! Say it ain’t so! ;)

  9. Reb says:

    i love eye shadow – but my eyes have grown allergic to just about every brand, I haven’t had the heart to throw them away – they’re just to pretty. Thanks for letting us to know we can turn them into nail polish. I’m don’t polish my nails often, but I do use nail polish in crafting – all the new glittery colors =]

  10. I’ve awarded you the versatile blogger award!! I’ve only just started reading the blog but looking forward to keeping up with your gorgeous posts. I’m going to have to try out the eye shadow nail polish trick, can’t wait but will credit you of course!

    Bellaandrobot.blogspot.com

  11. Kailey says:

    I would love to try this but one question how does it not brush off? and do you have an video totorial i could watch?

  12. Brenda Main says:

    Awesome, excited to try it.

  13. Katie says:

    Can you elaborate a little about the clear polish you use and the white you use to do the tips? I am really interested to try this but want to make sure I get good-enough products. I agree with you about trying to keep it cheap, but don’t want to pay the price for cheap products after I do it!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Sure, I use Wet and Wild clear polish- almost any one will do. There isn’t a lot of difference between any of them that I’ve found. The basic ingredients are all the same- the only one kind I wouldn’t recommend is a quick-dry clear topcoat because it dries too quickly. For the white tips, I use Color Club Art Club striper in white. It’s just a more opaque white polish with a thinner brush. When you paint French tips, move the nail and not the brush- this allows for a smoother line. Hope that helped for now!

  14. shari says:

    i just stumbled upon your web site today and really loved it. The pictures are so clear and detailed, you must be great at photography as well as beauty tips.

    You are so creative, you have inspired me to give my daughter a manicure! She has been really down lately and I have been trying to think of ways to lift her mood (She had reconstructive surgery on her foot, and has braces and a herbst appliance in her mouth –google it, those are not comfortable)

    Anyhow, thank you for all the great tips, also I love your writing style, it feels like you are talking girlfriend to girlfriend :)

    take care and keep up the great work!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi Shari! I’m so glad you stopped by and are enjoying the blog. Sorry to hear your daughter is having a rough patch and I hope things look up very soon! Send her my best wishes and I hope you guys come up with a fun mani to do together. <3

  15. I’m def. going to try this! I never would have thought of this on my own! So cool! I don’t have TONS of eye shadow I don’t use, but I DO have some blues & I have brown eyes & will not where blue on my lids, lol:) I can see I’ll probably be making some shades of blue nail polish in the near future, haha! Thanks!

  16. Ashley Voss says:

    any particular polish to shadow ratio or just until it looks right?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      It really depends on how sheer or opaque you want it to be. Add the shadow bit by bit until you are satisfied with the opacity. A clear plastic knife (not sharp, like the disposable kind used at parties) can be a handy way to swatch the polish quickly to test the color. I just brush a bit of polish on the knife while I’m mixing if I want to check how it actually applies. This saves you the trouble of painting it on your nails and then discovering you don’t really like the color.

  17. Tiffanymedwid says:

    what did u use to paint them on your nails once u mixed it? And how did u clean the British you used?

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I used the brush from the clear polish. Wipe the brush off with a lint-free cotton pad soaked in nail polish remover and you’re good to go. I do have a special bottle of clear polish I use just for mixing. It will get some random contamination but can be used for a long time if you wipe the brush off before replacing it.

  18. thila says:

    wow. wonderful tips

  19. MJ says:

    This would also be a great way to use older eye shadows that maybe expired,(or should be retired,eye make-up should be replaced,due to bacteria build up.Especially mascara,every 3 months.) Definitely gonna try this.

  20. setu rohini says:

    Wow, I am really impressed on how creatively you made this nail art turn fab starting from eyeshadow! Never turned eyeshadow to a nail paint before, does the quality of the eye shadow matter? Are nail paints only good when they are branded stuff

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      I’m glad you liked it! :) The eyeshadow should be on the dry side (no creams, etc) but I have had both fabulous and terrible results with cheap and expensive eyeshadows! I always use pretty cheap clear polish, the brand doesn’t make a difference as it’s all the same stuff in general.

Leave a Reply

