New Year’s Nail Art Ideas

Well, everyone, 2011 is almost finished. It’s been quite a year for those of us in Japan- earthquake, tsunami, nuclear meltdown, etc. I lost my job (which wasn’t all bad!) but it was a big change. I personally am ready to shut the door on 2011! All in all, it was definitely one for the history books.

I’m hoping 2012 will be a more positive year for me. I’ll be leaving Japan early next year, which is a huge change for me, and then I’m not sure what happens next! Of course it will involve glitter. :)

But enough ruminating, it’s New Year’s Eve! Time to relax and have some fun.

Here’s a couple of nail ideas for those of you who need some inspiration. (Western) New Year’s Eve is all about the sparkle, so it’s definitely my kind of holiday. But here in Japan, it’s more of a family oriented sort of event. But I always choose the sparklier option whenever I can, so my mani is going to be glittery for sure.

First up:

This set was a bit on the experimental side.  The index finger is a wine glass, but it kind of wound up looking like an hourglass.  (And I haven’t been hitting the champagne, I swear!) I painted the nail white first, then did the outline of the wineglass in black Sharpie marker. I used a gold glitter polish for the champagne, and then filled in the blue area with Orly Instant Artist striping polish and added some little white dots for the fizz.  By the way, the Orly Instant Artist seems to be water-based- don’t franken it with nail polish or you will get a mess.

For the clock on the index finger, I have a neat trick. Do not bother painting a circle, it is very hard to get right. Instead, paint the whole nail white, and add a black French tip at the top and one at the bottom. It doesn’t make a perfect circle but it’s a good representation and passes quite well, I think.

I painted the ring finger in medium blue, then covered it with one coat of white and a coat of gold glitter. While all the coats were wet, I used a toothpick to scratch in “2012.” I was hoping for more contrast, but this is a technique I am experimenting with as I try to work more texture into my nail art.

The pinkie is just a happy party hat with some glitter stripes and dots, with a rhinestone pom-pom.

Next up:

The star of this one is the nail polish! It’s Deborah Lippmann “Forget You,” which is a black jelly with multi-glitter suspended in it. This was practically made for a party. The application was good, and the glitter shows through nicely, but this polish is quite pricey. You could layer a glitter polish over black for a very similar effect.  For those of you in the US, Milani (cruelty free but not 100% vegan) has a multi-glitter polish called “Gems” which I layer with quite often. OPI has a glitterbomb from the Muppets collection too, but they’re not a part of my stash anymore after their acquisition by Coty, since they test on animals.

I added some silver star studs and a couple rhinestones to jazz it up. This would be a good manicure for short-term wear, like a party, because the star studs do tend to snag on clothes and hair unless they are coated with UV gel or a heavy topcoat. Do your nails last!

And last:

One of my personal favorites! Color Club Magic Attraction. It is a pain to get off, but for a blingy event, it’s worth it! It’s pretty jazzy all on its own and is smooth with a coat of Seche, but since it’s New Years, I decided to go with a couple of rhinestone embellishments:

Some acrylic rhinestones- it is New Year’s after all! Glue them on with nail glue and then coat with a clear topcoat. They won’t last more than a day or two, but it’s a fun look for a party.

Happy New Year to everyone and I hope 2012 will be a wonderful year filled with all good things! <3

 

 

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in NTMG Original Nail Art, Store-bought Colors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New Year’s Nail Art Ideas

  1. Lucy says:

    Have a very Happy New Year Jen. You’ve been through a hell of a year. I’m sure you’ll be glad to see the end of it. Your really going to have some major changes next year. I pray everything will turn out good for you next year. Love the manicures. I’m getting rid of 2 plastic 6 drawer containers & just using Snap-It totes. My polishes were getting very dusty. I was dusting off Magic Attraction last night. It’s one of my favorite polishes. Just gorgeousness in a bottle.

  2. Bunny says:

    Wow! That second look is fabulous! I like all of them, but I’m a sucker for stars. :D

    Also, that Deborah Lippman polish is pretty swank. It amazes me how polish makers can pull of tricks like an opaque black that can still show off glitter.

    Sorry you had such a crazy year! We’re all so glad you got through the tsunami crisis okay. I’m glad this year is over as well.

    Can’t wait to see what the new year brings! :D

  3. I hope you open up your very own nail salon!

  4. Love the Color Club! I put some gems on my nails for the first time yesterday. They’re very simple, small, round gems, but I found that I absolutely love the texture of them on my nails!

  5. Hayley says:

    Hey there.. I’m a new follower of your blog and I’m hooked!! I’m an aspiring nail tech myself but right now I’m just self taught until I can go to school.. I love the color club polish you used and also the deborah Lippmann one too but I looked it up and it is very pricey!! Do you have any recommendations of similar polish that is not quite as pricey?? Love your work.. Keep up the amazing nails!!!

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      Hi there! Thanks for stopping by the blog and I’m so glad you liked it! The Lippmann polish is very expensive- it was a big splurge for me. If you’re in the US, try Miliani brand (you can get it at CVS, etc). It should be around $5-6 but they are always having sales. Milani’s glittery topcoat is called “Gems” and over black polish, it will give a very similar look to the Lippmann. Or if you’re feeling brave, mix up 1/3 black polish, 2/3 clear polish, then mix in the Milani Gems if you want that black jelly look. But just layering it over black will give a nice and very similar effect. Have fun!

  6. Pingback: Let's just talk about these super awesome fun time party nails for a minute. | hairideaz

Leave a Reply

