Hanukkah Nail Art

And, for today, we have some Hanukkah (Chanukah? everyone seems to spell it differently) nails, since today marks the beginning of the celebration. Although I’m not Jewish myself, I do enjoy a good matzoh ball soup and can appreciate the lovely imagery of the holiday.

The base color is Misa Throw Me Something Purple Please (I LOVE this color) with a topcoat of China Glaze Golden Enchantment, a gold microglitter. I painted on a menorah, a dreidel, and a Star of David. I did some gold coins on the thumb, but I smudged them. Boo!

For seasonal nail art that’s only going to be worn a day or two, I recommend acrylic paints. They’re not the most durable, but they definitely provide the best ‘pop’ of color for maximum contrast.  I painted all the items in white acrylic paint first, using a small brush, and then went over them with nail polish. For example, the candle flames show up pretty well, because they were painted in white and layered with yellow polish. But if I’d just used the yellow polish, they would have been much harder to see.

If you use acrylic paint, a good solid topcoat is a must. I used my trusty old Seche Vite.  Some topcoats can turn a white shade to yellow, though, so do a little test first.

So, happy Hanukkah to everyone celebrating it!

About nevertoomuchglitter

Nail artist. Wanderer. I'm a color-holic, in fact, it was my love of color that brought me to the nail art world. Well, that, and the fact I was too cheap to pay crazy Japanese prices for nail polish while living in Tokyo, so I had to start mixing my own. That's how NTMG began.
This entry was posted in Holiday Nails and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hanukkah Nail Art

  1. Lucy says:

    Love your art. I think of Chanukah Harry from SNL or Adam Sandler’s Chanukah Song. So funny. I love matzoh ball soup also. I haven’t had it in so long.

    • nevertoomuchglitter says:

      The Chanukah song always cracks me up, but for some reason every time I hear it, it stays in my head for days! I’m definitely treating myself to some nice matzoh ball soup in NYC when I head back to the states. I’ve tried making it myself, but my matzohs are like lead hockey pucks. :(

  2. Pingback: 9 Hanukkah Manicures, Seattle Style - inSpa - Holiday Nail Art

Leave a Reply

